Macs to go Intel or AMD??

An article in this months PC Magazine stated that Apple is at a "crossroads", and could choose to put Intel or AMD chips in there upcoming boxes, and may even jump right to the 64-bit processors to get a jump on IBM compatibles. Anyone have any thoughts?

Have a read of this post by Ritsuke:

https://www.neowin.net/comments.php?category=mac&id=333

From the article it doesn't look like they will be using Intel/AMD chips any time soon, seeing as they are releasing the new G5 chips.

I am not a mac expert (not even slightly :roll: ), but I think it would make mac's even more like PC's. Is this a good thing?

Ritsuke would be the man to comment on this, he is up on all the mac news, etc.

it'dd be interesting to see AMD or Intel Processors in Mac OS, M$ would lose lots of their users to Apple because quite a few ppl who have pcs want mac os, and that'll be the beginning of custom built mac pcs.

If Apple goes either way, mac users will rejoice knowing that it would be possible then that MacOS X will be usable on pc's (or vice versa, ie windows on mac :D). Unless Apple figures out another gay way to keep it all to themselves :ditsy:

'Tis true that Apple and AMD are rather close these days.

Since Apple has hop?d on AMD's Hyper Transport bandwagon, I could only imagine Apple is considering AMD to take over production of their G5 chips if IBM decides not to do it. Another rumour is that Apple might open up the box and allow chip makers, like AMD, to fill the void.

Now, these are only rumors that arose after Motorola decided to pull out their heavy support of PPC for desktop comps.

Just remember that Microsoft owns A LOT of Apple stock. I seriously doubt Apple will make the crossover jump anytime soon (Microsoft wanting competition?) - not to mention Jobs' pure dislike of Wintel systems.

(p.s. I didn't post that particular article - However, I did discuss it somewhere - and I can't find i:(:()

Originally posted by radixvir