[help] thinking on taking a class on linux

I'm thinking on taking a credit class on Linux at a college close to my house.

Intro to Linux

And since i'm new to Linux i was wondering if you guys can help.

like picking a good Linux book or reference on the net. something that can help me...

Thanks a lot guys...

:edit:

sorry guys. i think i posted in the wrong place... :pinch:

Ahh.....

you're new to linux & givin a presentation on it!!

Are you gonna compare it with other OS ?

Well !you should arrange the topics like,

File System (how secure?)

Security

Operations (how linux works)

Kernel (imp. of linux)

Network Security in linux

& similarly blah..blah..blah..

sorry guys. i think i posted in the wrong place...  :pinch:

585241081[/snapback]

Yeah, you did. But it is easy enough to fix. ;)

* thread moved *

this quarter in my operating systems class, we are using Linux For Non-Geeks as our text book for Linux. I've alread read some of it, and being new to Linux myself, proved to be pretty useful. I'd say try getting that book (a distro of Fedora Core comes with the book) and have at it. I'd also say take the class, you'll feel more confident I'm sure. Have fun :)

I've personally done talks and lectures on Linux at my university. You need to be careful of the audience, if they're a selection of master's level computer scientists you can presume a bit of knowledge, otherwise you need to start by explaining what an operating system is, as most people have no idea. Then introduce the history of GNU (starting well before Linux was created) and then Linux (with perhaps a mention of MINIX by Andrew S. Tanenbaum - the OS that inspired Torvalds to create Linux) and explain how these elements have been brought together, even a mention of traditional UNIX would be useful, and why this was problematic in the past (i.e. compatability).