Recommendation for a 7:1 home theatre setup

First of all, I am a newbie to home theater system. Recently, I have decided to setup a home theater in my basement. The size of the room I have allocated for the home theater is 20 feet by 16 feet. The budget I have available for the audio system is $3-4K. I am thinking to get 7:1 audio system.

I wonder what's is the best setup (best quality) I can get with the budget I have. I thought about Bose's life style 48 system. But I don't like their tiny speakers.

Any suggestions/recommendation will be greatly appreciated.

I would really appreciate if you could also forward your commenst to my email address since I don't read this forum often. My email address is gyzhang63@yahoo.com.

Thanks a lot for your help in advance.

George

Can I ask why you want to go 7.1? Well, anyway, this is what I would recommend:

Rear Speakers: 4 x Klipsch S-3

Front Speakers: 2 x Klipsch F-3

Center Speaker: 1 x Klipsch C- 3

Subwoofer: 1 x Klipsch SUB12

Receiver: Pioneer VSX-72TXV

That should be within your price range.

Can I ask why you want to go 7.1? Well, anyway, this is what I would recommend:

Rear Speakers: 4 x Klipsch S-3

Front Speakers: 2 x Klipsch F-3

Center Speaker: 1 x Klipsch C- 3

Subwoofer: 1 x Klipsch SUB12

Receiver: Pioneer VSX-72TXV

That should be within your price range.

586830603[/snapback]

Thanks for your response.

Well, I think that the more speakers the better. :)

I will be using the hoem theater primarily for watching movies, TV, karaoke, playing music, etc.

7:1 is a ratio. 7.1 is a speaker distribution spec. ;) Just for when you go ask for it.

586830703[/snapback]

Thanks. Actually, when I typed it, I wondered if it should be one dot or two dots. :)

eh, one dot works fine.

A small word to the wise, worry about setting up a powerful 5.1 experience then add other channels later. Most DVD's are programmed for 5.1, newer one do have the option for Dolby EX (6 and 7 channel modes).