Loose Clutch Pedal

My bro's saturn has been having a problem. He is having problems shifting gears.

He drove me home after school today and we turned a corner and he couldnt get it into 1st gear. He reved, put it in neutral and let the clutch up. The only way he could get it in is if he put the clutch in and forced it into gear.

I have some knowledge of cars. So I got when we got home started to do my thing. I pushed the cluch and and to my suprise it was very easy. I didnt have to use muscles to push it in. I could let my leg go limp and it would go in. So im thinking that this is all caused by a loose clutch/clutch pedal. Is there any way that we would fix this at home? Or is it an expensive mechanics job.

well my clutch seems to be the same way, it wont let me go into 1st gear unless im pretty much at a dead stop.. other wise i stay in second gear.. so i unno what to tell you

If it has hydraulic clutch linkage, it may be low on fluid. If so, it has a leak and will need to be repaired. It could also be a bad pressure plate. You should get it checked.

My bro and I checked the fluid. and the resivoir was pretty full.

We got it towed to the mechanics. He can look at it on monday the 23rd. So we will know then. Im willing to be its the clutch cable.

well i had my clutch changed in summer.

but it is hard for me to get into first gear too. it was very easy after the fix, but only after a couple of week it got worse.

now is winter so at start its very hard to get into first (i go into third then first, or second third, this seems to move gears and makes it easy to get in)

but even after some driving, it is still hard to get into first.

is that not normal and should i check it out? all the other gears are fine and the pedal seems firm enough.

its probably just a loose clutch cable... get the car manual out and find where to tighten it...

you shouldnt be driving in first anyway... its pretty much only for standing starts.