"Mode Not Supported" error...

I had posted this problem in the *nix switchers forum, and have tried each solution mentioned. So, now I'm coming straight to the Linux forum here for some help. Here's what I have done: First I tried Ubuntu because of all the good things I've heard. Upon using the Live cd and also the alternative cd and installing the OS, I kept getting an error from my monitor saying "Mode Not Supported". So, people said go to a command line and try configuring xserver. I did all that was offered and still the same problem. Then it was suggested to try another distro, so I downloaded Madriva Live cd and I was still getting the same problem. At first I thought it was my monitor, but now I'm thinking it's my graphics card which is an ATI 9600 Pro All-in-Wonder. So, my question, anyone here have this card and have it working? Please bear in mind, I am a noob and I'm looking for serious help in getting Linux to work for me. Thanks!

In your other thread, I posted a recommendation to try a Knoppix CD. You replied that you were "trying Knoppix. But I'm assuming the same thing will happen.". You never did say if it worked, or what problem you had. I'll assume you *did* try it, and it did the same thing.

Continuing from that point, with a Knoppix CD, when it first boots and waits for you to (normally) hit ENTER (or wait), try each of the following, and let me know which one(s) works:

• knoppix screen=1024x768
  • knoppix xvrefresh=60
  • knoppix xserver=XF86_SVGA
  • knoppix xmodule=svga
  • failsafe

I am hoping that either the "screen" or "svrefresh" option works, as these are areas where I would be most familiar (just simple settings in the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file).