Subwoofer bad for HDD?

Just a question, cause I wondering this today. I have my subwoofer on my desk, next to my laptop and my external HDD. I have some cloth under it to dampen the bass a bit, but my question is whether the vibration can have a negative effect on the HDDs? I don't want to put it on the floor, because the sound is not as good.

Thx in advance.

the magnet is more of a concern, but in general i dont think the magnetic fields generated by it should exten past the box... I'm not an expert though.

Vibrations are always bad for anything.

--> Looked around and found this:

In order for a

magnetic field to affect a floppy disk it does not have to be

considerably strong. A magnet on a refrigerator can destroy the

information on a floppy disk.

A magnet has to be of considerable

strength to destroy the information on the hard drive of a computer. If

you took the magnet of a 12 inch speaker (Sub-Woofer) and placed it

next to your CPU, it (magnet from Sub-Woofer) will cause a

considerable damage to your hard drive.

6- Make sure the speakers to your computer are shielded before

placing them next to your CPU.

speakers designed for use near computers are usaually sheilded so that most of the magnetic field generated by the magnet doesn't pass though the casing of the speaker.

Shielding the speakers basically involves the use of a material that dampens, but not totally absorb the magnetic fields produced by the speaker's magnet. The use of a product such as MagnetShield will do the trick.

As others have stated, the magnet should be more of a concern. I used to have an external USB drive enclosure with an older 2.5" hard drive in it. I stored this right on top of a 10" 100 watt JBL subwoofer. Needless to say, I experienced significant data corruption. Check the maximum operating shock your drive is rated for. Unless the hard drive itself is bouncing around in the cone of your subwoofer, I wouldn't worry about it.