weird thing my new xbox keeps doing

i brought my new xbox 360 as a late birthday present for myself last thursday [thrusday the 19th of april 2007] and when i got it home, i hooked it straight up to xbox live, the tv etc. i started playing through gears of war and after a while it kicked me off telling me "please clean the disc, unable to read" so i thought thats was weird, so i took out the disc and saw no dust or finger prints or owt on it. so i started up again and it does it every now and tehn and i'm pretty sure it shouldnt be doing this.

any ideas what i could do to try and resolve this? its only 7 days old :(

well the 7 day exchange on the recepit has run out =[

i guess i could just try and wing it and explain it to the ppl and try. i hope they let me keep the hard drive if they exchange the console as i've just sorted out all the xbox live shizz ?? and done loads of achievments.

erm, UK law says you have to have a 1 year warranty one way or another, try exchange at store, if not you'll prob need to send it in for a service.

i had the same problem with my 360...it's currently headed to the repair center.

like the person above me said, if you can't exchange it at the store, call up microsoft and get em to repair it for you.

well the 7 day exchange on the recepit has run out =[

i guess i could just try and wing it and explain it to the ppl and try. i hope they let me keep the hard drive if they exchange the console as i've just sorted out all the xbox live shizz ?? and done loads of achievments.

7 Days, that sounds like GameStation, right?