Sven: I was a very popular England manager

Sven-Goran Eriksson believes England fans feel little animosity towards him despite his unsuccessful tenure and off-field problems.

Former boss Eriksson bowed out after last summer's World Cup in Germany where England, among the pre-tournament favourites, spectacularly underperformed before defeat by Portugal in the quarter-finals.

But the Swede, who remains in the market for a new job, has never doubted his ability as a manager and believes he still has the support of his former public.

'I have always been able to do this job,' he told Sunday Times Magazine.

'Before England, I had never been sacked in my life. I don't sit here pining about it, but I loved being a manager and I am still young enough to do the job.

'For the first few nights back in Sweden, I couldn't sleep and couldn't really stop thinking about what had happened. It wasn't like I was in a depression but it was a recurring thought.

'I couldn't talk about the World Cup and haven't spoken about it until now. We should have done better, I am absolutely convinced of that.'

He added: 'I've never heard a bad word during six years of travelling around the country. Everyone has always been polite to me. Not even after the defeat to Portugal.

'If I land at Heathrow today people still want my autograph, which is nice, and a lot of them say `Sven, you did a good job'.'

i wouldn't want his autograph

I don't mind him, he had a good record with England, except for when it really mattered which was the tournaments.

He still masterminded the 5-1 win over Germany though, and that will go down in history.

And herein lies the problem with England - we glorify one-offs (1966, the 5-1 under Sven) rather than playing consistently well.

We are a very able team, with some great talent - but it's lacking consistency!