Files with long path names

I'm a developer, and often have deep directory structures which leads to long paths to files. Windows XP's explorer does not seem to be able to handle files with names larger than roughly 255-260 characters. Trying to delete such a file leads to warnings about not being able to access files.

Can someone confirm whether this limitation has been fixed in Vista? If not, are there any plans from MS to fix this? I cannot imagine the most popular desktop/workstation OS forcing its users to put up with this annoyance.

Perhaps BrandonLive (or someone else who works for MS) would be able to answer this best?

Any help would be appreciated...

I don't think must people have that deep of a directory structure for it to become an annoyance. Not sure if its an os issue or format type (FAT32, NTFS) issue.

I don't think must people have that deep of a directory structure for it to become an annoyance. Not sure if its an os issue or format type (FAT32, NTFS) issue.

You're probably right about most people not having the problem. However, developers (Java devs with extremely long package names, for example) working on large scale projects are sure to come across this little annoyance.

Windows is probably the most popular development/workstation platform as well... so I would expect developers/administrators to be quite inconvenienced by this.

Here is a discussion that google found.... http://discuss.joelonsoftware.com/default....joel.3.57363.29

I see no real workarounds other than hacks such as ...move your directory structure to the root of your drive (to make the overall path shorter), and then do your delete/rename/etc operations.

Also, I found http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q177665/ ...which means it has been around for years and years.