Event Id's 1097, 1030, 1110 - Server 2003

Hello Guys,

Having problems, I am quite new to setting up Windows Server 2003, got it so that my user can log on with the roaming profile and My Documents are there and settings are saved to the profile correctly.

Problem #1: On the log on screen, i get a box pop up saying "Creating a list of Domains" and takes ages to complete (i can get round this by Ctrl + Alt + Del).

Problem #2: None of the GPO's take affect, i presume this is because of the Error on the Event ID's. These Events are listed on the XP Event Viewer, not the Server.

Any Ideas on how to fix this guys, or what may be causing it??? Appreciate any help you guys can give

Joe

Event Type: Error

Event Source: Userenv

Event Category: None

Event ID: 1097

Date: 6/6/2008

Time: 11:11:05 PM

User: NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM

Computer: JOEXPFASTER

Description:

Windows cannot find the machine account, No authority could be contacted for authentication. .

Event ID: 1030

Time: 11:11:05 PM

Description:

Windows cannot query for the list of Group Policy objects. A message that describes the reason for this was previously logged by the policy engine.

Event ID: 1110

Time: 11:12:55 PM

Description:

Attempt to determine whether user and machine accounts are in the same forest failed (The interface is unknown. ).

it's either that you are not able to contact the AD/domain possibly because of DNS setup problems (there are many posts about this problem and the solution)

or

your pc needs to be removed and re added to the domain to gets it computer account working

I think the problem may be that i do not have a reverse lookup, can anyone advise me on how to do this i dont really understand it, i have read a lot of texts about how to set it up but i still do not understand

Thanks for your reply Bobbba,

I think the problem may be that i do not have a reverse lookup.