[Review] Apple Wireless Keyboard

The Microsoft Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 is a great keyboard, and I have been using my one since August 2007. However, the desire to move to wireless instigated a search for a new keyboard. The chase led me to the Apple Wireless Keyboard.

3250048885_9aeb6129d5.jpg?v=0

To be honest, after a fair bit of research their seemed to be a distinct lack of wireless keyboards currently available to buy. This came as somewhat of a surprise to me as wireless mice, a keyboards counterpart, are relatively abundant these days. It just seemed natural that wireless keyboards would be available in the same abundance.

So first of all, why do I feel I need a wireless keyboard? Well workspace at my University accommodation is somewhat restricted, and I became very attracted to the idea of just being able to move my keyboard over to my bed whilst eating my tea or doing some work, something which I couldn't do with my Microsoft Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 without a bit of messing around. In addition, the Ergonomic 4000 does have its drawbacks; being a big and bulky ergonomic keyboard it is excellent for typing, but those funky shaped keys do like to attract a lot of dirt and grime, which made cleaning it somewhat tedious.

3250880512_f8668fc25c.jpg?v=0

If you say 'wireless keyboard', 7 times out of 10 the Logitech diNovo Edge will spring to any technology lovers mind. It is a brilliant bit of kit and it did appeal to me, but could I really justify spending ?100 on a keyboard that doesn't really offer anything besides looking a bit snazzy? After browsing a thread on Neowin (a forum I frequent), I noticed a few comments were praising the wireless keyboard Apple offers to the public, so I decided to take a closer look.