The Hillsborough Football Disaster: 15th April 1989

Come the start of April, thoughts drift towards the 96 people who lost their lives during the Hillsborough disaster.

On April 15th 1989, 96 football fans went to watch and support their team in an FA Cup Semi Final, and never came home. Whether you were at Hillsborough on that terrible day, or were not even born when it happened, the disaster has had left a lasting effect on the city of Liverpool and its people.

This year is especially more poignant as April 15th 2009 marks the 20th anniversary of the Hillsborough football disaster. It is shocking to think that nearly 20 years after that tragic day, justice has not yet been done, and the Hillsborough Justice Campaign continues the fight.

Every year, on the anniversary of the disaster, a memorial service is held at Anfield to remember those who lost their lives on that day. Although I have never done so before, the service is something I will be attending this year. I will also be distributing copies of 'The Hillsborough Football Disaster: Context & Consequences' around my University to raise awareness.

A special version of 'Fields of Anfield Road' was released on the 6th April to raise money for the Hillsborough Family Support Group, to boost awareness of the fight for justice, and, of course, to act as a musical tribute to the 96. I urge all of you to purchase the song on iTunes in a bid to get the song to number one and raise money for the HFSG, the song can also be purchased from HMV.

090401(1).jpg

Justice for the 96

For more information on the Hillsborough disaster please visit www.contrast.org/hillsborough

For more information on the musical tribute to the 96 please visit www.fieldsofanfieldroad.co.uk/hillsboroughsong.html

You'll Never Walk Alone

hillsboroughremembered_080409.gif