My HTPC Spec

Im new to the HTPC scene, having been reading loads of threads on here

Im looking for a smiliar set up to this

Im looking at the system being able to play/stream 1080p files.

I plan on storing most of my films/music/photos on 2 hard drives I already have

Ive had a look around and Ive found the following items, and Im wondering if it will do for what Im after?

Case Antec NSK 2480 MATX Desktop Case

Mobo Gigabyte GA-MA78GPM-DS2H 780G Socket AM2

Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4850e 2.5GHz Socket AM2 Energy Efficient 1MB L2 Cache

Memory Kingston 2gb 800mhz

Drive LG GH22NS40 22X SATA DVD?RW

I might at a later date buy a blu-ray/hd dvd combo drive

Can anyone suggest any bit of kit so I will be able to access and system wirelessly to maintain it?

I already have a retail OS so that will save some money as well

Edited by 5Forty

I see that mobo has a onboard ATI Radeon HD 3200 - 128 MB DDR3 SDRAM. It's on the edge, but should be good enough for HW accelerating HD content (dxva). I would recommend something a few steps higher, like the 34/36XX versions, but ahh well..you should be fine :)

And to remotly use it, you need a second PC and install a VNC server so you can just take over control through your main PC. And make sure you buy a nice remote (MCE) remote control. The MCE remote controls are compatible with lots of mediacenter software programs.

Cheers for the advice

Since the case I have picked is silver Ive tried to find a silver dvd drive instead and have no luck :(

Does anyone know websites that stock silver dvd drives?

Cheers for the advice

Since the case I have picked is silver Ive tried to find a silver dvd drive instead and have no luck :(

Does anyone know websites that stock silver dvd drives?

Are you sure you need a silver dvd drive? Most HTPC cases come with faceplates that stick onto the door of the drive to ensure that it looks good. I'd be surprised if your Antec case was any different.