Making The Move To Linux

So I want to make the move to using Linux full time. I have been using Windows since the dark ages and recently have been playing with various distros trying to find the right one for me. I like Ubuntu and Fedora at the moment.

The major reason why I haven't made the move is based on the below reasons:

1. I still like to game. I know about wine and have had a few attempts which failed even with some simple old school games like Baldur's Gate.

2. I am studying to finish the MCSE and some 2008 certifications and CBT Nuggets use DRM which won't play on Linux... Yes I know the irony.

3. I am a Senior Consultant that mainly deals with Microsoft environments on a daily basis.

I am at the point with Windows where it all feels the same, almost lifeless if you will. I am bored with it and while my system is rock solid its just plain boring....

Any advice? Oh and dual booting is a possibility but not ideal.

Gaming just sucks in Virtualbox. The only real options are dual booting and wine. Probably the best option for a gamer in Linux is to use Steam. It works well with wine and Crossover Games.

Your best bet is to dual boot, either create another partition on your current HDD or buy a new HDD. You get the best of both worlds this way

Thanks for the quick responses. I think dual booting will be the go..

As I haven't spent much time with Linux I was hoping someone could answer some questions around best practice for dual booting etc..

1. As GRUB (by previous attempts) has taken over as the boot loader (Windows installed first) from a recovery perspective (say Windows craps out and needs to be re-installed) which is better?

a - Installing Windows and Linux on the same disk?

b - Installing Windows and Linux on separate disks?