Warning: Visiting this site may harm your computer!


Recommended Posts

Too many false positives, so I turned it off a long time ago. Just go the Chrome Options>Under the Hood>Privacy and uncheck the phishing/malware protection. Besides, most of us here on Neowin are seasoned experts to know when we stumble upon an unsafe website.

Too many false positives, so I turned it off a long time ago. Just go the Chrome Options>Under the Hood>Privacy and uncheck the phishing/malware protection. Besides, most of us here on Neowin are seasoned experts to know when we stumble upon an unsafe website.

Pretty silly that you need to do that though. The other browsers don't seem to have this issue with DropBox.

There's a lot of members who use Dropbox on Neowin though, so this is going to be a recurring problem if some work around isn't sorted. I'm using Imageshack now for my sig, but it's not like they are the most secure site as we've witnessed recently ;)

I've seen this happen before with members sigs hosted on DropBox. TehSpookeh's old one used to cause it.

Edit: Haha, looks like it's me this time? :p

owned. HAHA I agree though, the site is much better than Imageshack or some others.

It is still happening it must be someone ease to.

Well give us the details of what image is being blocked and then we can track down which member's signature it is.

I've moved all of mine to my own hosting, so hopefully I'm still not causing it :laugh:

Just disable that function.

Unless you are touching a PC for the first time,you know very well a site as this one can only be a false positive,so instead of being helpful,that message is a nuissance.

The issue is that not everyone will do that, or even think to do that. Many would visit Neowin, get a phishing warning, and leave the site.

That's the issue when you have one company controlling definitions for security: it damages the little guys.

I just got a warning viewing this thread... :blink:

Stop breaking the rules then shockz :p

Yeah NOD32 gives me false positives when browsing Neowin sometimes :/

I use photobucket for signatures/images, no one seems to have issues with them...

I host a lot of stuff on dropbox (but not my sig as I don't have one :p)

They might as well label any hosting sight as having malicious content if they're gonna label dropbox.

Dropbox is one of the better free hosting sites. What were these idiots thinking when they added that filter?

  • 3 months later...

This is happening again with dl.dropbox.com

In addition to Google Chrome, I also received a warning message from Firefox when I tried to view a particular signature. It also happens with some avatars that are not hosted on Neowin.

Yes, those who read this thread will realize that it is a false positive linked to a silly signature but I fear that a casual visitor to Neowin's forum will think that we are out to get them.

http://safebrowsing.clients.google.com/saf.../dl.dropbox.com

Edit: Now it's happening with files.dropbox.com as well.

http://safebrowsing.clients.google.com/saf...les.dropbox.com

This topic is now closed to further replies.
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Posts

    • My son is in Monaco right now, and I was checking his location in Apple's Find My app. I noticed that Prince Albert's Palace was blurred out on the satellite imagery in both Find My and Apple Maps. I checked Google Maps, and the palace wasn't blurred there. Does Apple have some kind of process where property owners can request that their homes be blurred on Apple Maps?  
    • No, it was THAT ugly and I’d rather forget it completely existed.
    • There is a lot of reasons not to use Edge but faster fixes and security updates is not one of them.
    • Can't reproduce. I installed Edge, went to neowin.net > accepted the cookie consent > used menu to go to forums, everything loads and I can browse around the forums. If you can't interact with the dialog on the forums for some reason, go to the main site and accept the cookie consent there? It is true that the site will not function properly until the cookie consent is accepted or rejected,. it's a legal requirement and I also know that certain VPN/ad blockers block it, which is a user related issue and not a neowin.net problem.   This is not our cookie consent dialog. Gotta love browser hijacking... /s Edit: this may be what Californians see, I will confirm with our consent provider.
  • Recent Achievements

    • One Month Later
      Clizby earned a badge
      One Month Later
    • One Month Later
      Timaximus earned a badge
      One Month Later
    • Week One Done
      Timaximus earned a badge
      Week One Done
    • Rookie
      FBSPL went up a rank
      Rookie
    • First Post
      davidbazooked earned a badge
      First Post
  • Popular Contributors

    1. 1
      +primortal
      491
    2. 2
      PsYcHoKiLLa
      170
    3. 3
      +Edouard
      164
    4. 4
      Steven P.
      85
    5. 5
      ATLien_0
      76
  • Tell a friend

    Love Neowin? Tell a friend!