C++ nonlinear secant method program

Question

hi, im a beginner in using C++...

i have a project due in a few days and i've been trying to do the program for a week now... we're supposed to make a program that would allow the user to enter any polynomial equation (always = 0), asks the user the interval and number of iterations and solve it using secant method...

for example, the user entered the polynomial equation of 0.5x^4 + 2x^2 - x + 4 = 0, interval [-0.25, 0], no of iterations is 5, the result should be the following:

339qefn.jpg

the screen should look like this when program is run:

3325hs4.jpg

i already have a code for the secant method formula part for computing the new x sub n, however i don't have a clue as to how i would make a code enabling the user to enter the polynomial equation to be solved and substituting the new x (which is the new computed x sub n obtained from the secant formula) to the polynomial equation?

the question is what I want possible?... is there any kind of library that I need for wat I want?..

hope u guys can help coz honestly im no good in programming? I'm getting crazy with this project coz due is in 2 days time (sobs)? please help?

for additional information, for the secant part of the program? the code is the following:

for(int i=1;i<=n;i++)
{
	 c[i+1]=c[i]-(f(c[i]) * (c[i]-c[i-1])) / (f(c[i])-f(c[i-1]));
	 cout <<"c(" << i+1 <<") = "<< c[i+1] <<"\n";
}

10 answers to this question

lol that was like the 4th google result: http://www.programmersheaven.com/mb/beginn...d-programming-/

Maybe you should just try to push through this? If you don't understand how to use std::cin and std::cout you probably just need to hit the books a little and practice. You'll never been good without those few basics. 2 days should be plenty of time to figure out simple I/O on your own.

std::cin is real easy to use.

something like:

int first_variable;

char first_math_operator;

int next_variable;

std::cin >> first_variable;