A better linux for the future

First off, I have never used linux before (Don't hit me). I am a Windows C# and ASP.NET programmer (Don't hit me). A buddy of mine recently wanted me to do a project with him but it was done in Ubuntu.

I am actually pretty impressed with the level of effort that went into it but then I got thinking, if linux is to become more mainstream how to make it better?

Here's a couple ideas I came up with.

• Universal Installation Program - .Run, .Sh., etc. needs some form of terminal use. Terminal is very powerful but to families out there they wont care. Imagine an 80 year old person having to use terminal to install a .sh program!
  • Less Terminal Use!!! - Again yes terminal is very powerful but the less a general user (or at all) has to use the happier the masses will be right! It's about utility here right! Greatest good for the greatest number!
  • Less Tux Jargon! - holy hell guys! When installing ubuntu I was learning japanese at the same time! Please always use the full name then maybe in parenthesis show what it is.

What's your ideas! And please no ohhhh just go here and get this. This is about out of the "box" just installed.

Annnnnnnd GO!

• Like 2

Less Terminal Use!!! - Again yes terminal is very powerful but the less a general user (or at all) has to use the happier the masses will be right! It's about utility here right! Greatest good for the greatest number!

Nobody's stopping you from creating a GUI frontend for whatever tools you need. :p

Less Tux Jargon! - holy hell guys! When installing ubuntu I was learning japanese at the same time! Please always use the full name then maybe in parenthesis show what it is.

Remember: Google is your friend. :laugh:

I do admit though, those are some good ideas. :)

First off, I have never used linux before (Don't hit me). I am a Windows C# and ASP.NET programmer (Don't hit me). A buddy of mine recently wanted me to do a project with him but it was done in Ubuntu.