[Board Game] Settlers of Catan

Well I started playing Settlers of Catan and I honestly can't stop playing the game. It's so much fun with friends and it's perfect when you don't know what to do!

I'm sure others here have played the game before, what do you think? For those who are experienced, what is your favourite expansion?

settlers_of_catan_strategy_placement1.jpg

lol I remember we had a blast playing this about 2 times a week for a few months. We played the expansion that has the fish as the new commodity item (I forgot which extension it is though)..

haha nice! It's so fun to play together with friends :)

I think that version may have been Seafarers.

I love it too. I have seafarers and cities and knights. I love the game, and it really came alive with seafarers, but honestly, cities and knights is meh.

I see they have a new one called Traders & Barbarians which I'm going to have to pick up one of these days.

I don't play it much, mainly play it on holidays with my mom, dad, and girlfriend.

:o best board game ever. It's different everytime, most fun when there's a distinct lack of one resource. Trading gets pretty intense lol; at least it does when I play it.

The game's pretty awesome, before this I only liked risk and axis & allies (and monopoly obviously :p).

You basically randomly setup those pieces of the map at the start of each game. That means every game is different, requiring different strategies. The goal is to expand your village by building colonies/cities near the resources that you'll need to expand. As you build and grow the village in each round of dice, you gain points.

One really fun aspect is that you can deal with others when you want to for example trade resources, and you have to at some point because you'll most probably be lacking in something. So, you'll make some temporary alliances with key players, but careful because you might be helping out your friend a little more than you'd wished in your trades.