• Sign in to Neowin Faster!

Create an account on Neowin to contribute and support the site.

Sign in to follow this  

[Powershell] NTFS Permissions

Question

Got3n    39

So im looking to do a recursive search from the C: root and drill down and get all the NTFS permissions of said folders. get-childitem allows me to do this along with get-acl but the output isn't exactly what i want. I'm pretty new to Powershell so I know I dont know alot, can i get some help, here is what I have.

If I do this I get the data I want

get-childitem 'c:\Program Files' -recurse -exclude *.* | get-acl | fl

output

Path   : Microsoft.PowerShell.Core\FileSystem::C:\Program Files\WinRAR
Owner  : BUILTIN\Administrators
Group  : ECHRISTUS\Domain Users
Access : NT SERVICE\TrustedInstaller Allow  FullControl
         NT SERVICE\TrustedInstaller Allow  268435456
         NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM Allow  FullControl
         NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM Allow  268435456
         BUILTIN\Administrators Allow  FullControl
         BUILTIN\Administrators Allow  268435456
         BUILTIN\Users Allow  ReadAndExecute, Synchronize
         BUILTIN\Users Allow  -1610612736
         CREATOR OWNER Allow  268435456

I want to only show Path, Owner, and Access. I show only certain data i get a different output.

Here is hte command i used to show only the data I want.

get-childitem 'c:\Program Files' -recurse -exclude *.* | get-acl | fl -property Path,Owner,Access

output

Path   : Microsoft.PowerShell.Core\FileSystem::C:\Program Files\Windows XP Mode\Tutorial\Images
Owner  : NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM
Access : {System.Security.AccessControl.FileSystemAccessRule, System.Security.AccessControl.FileSystemAccessRule, System.Security.AccessControl.FileSystemAccessRule, System.Security.AccessControl.FileSystemAccessRule...}

As you can see the access no longer looks like it did in the one before.

Here is another one, this one i remove get-childitem and use just get acl to get the data I want.

INput