Jump to content



Photo

Google Chrome Icon + Start Screen = Disappears!?

win8

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 06 August 2012 - 22:56

So, Windows 8 Pro. For the love of god, I cannot get the Google Chrome (standard version not metro) icon to stay on the Start Screen.

I have gone all the way to the Application Data folder, where chrome.exe is, right clicked it, Pin to Start. And in just a few minutes, it disappears.

Anyone see this or care to test it, this is using Chrome stable BTW.


#2 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 06 August 2012 - 23:09

Nope, that seems to be unique to you :o

#3 Nazmus Shakib Khandaker

Nazmus Shakib Khandaker

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-April 12

Posted 07 August 2012 - 01:28

Are you sing the Release preview of Windows 8?

#4 Eddie7

Eddie7

    Hallo... www.connectw.me

  • Joined: 01-December 11
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: 1-800-CALL-ME-MAYBE

Posted 07 August 2012 - 01:30

Seems weird, I'm using Chrome on Windows 8 right now and it works perfectly fine.

#5 OP xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 07 August 2012 - 01:44

Are you sing the Release preview of Windows 8?


Nope, RTM

Seems weird, I'm using Chrome on Windows 8 right now and it works perfectly fine.


Maybe it has something to do with doing and upgrade from Windows 7 Ultimate...

#6 Nazmus Shakib Khandaker

Nazmus Shakib Khandaker

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-April 12

Posted 07 August 2012 - 19:35

I have no idea. I haven't installed google chrome on Windows 8 RTM machine because I use the release preview as my primary production/development machine. I can try to see if I can replicate this problem on RTM of Windows 8. But this issue doesn't exist on the RP for me.

#7 McKay

McKay

    Neowinian Stallion

  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: LG G3

Posted 07 August 2012 - 19:47

I have a different problem with Chrome, its changed into an imitation Metro app if launched from the start screen.

#8 Nazmus Shakib Khandaker

Nazmus Shakib Khandaker

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-April 12

Posted 07 August 2012 - 23:13

I have a different problem with Chrome, its changed into an imitation Metro app if launched from the start screen.


Set IE 10 as default browser to fix this

#9 bot847

bot847

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 30-October 12

Posted 30 October 2012 - 14:24

Try this. It worked for me.
http://www.mysysadmi...-8-start-screen