Jump to content



Photo

A final good bye to Windows

win8 win7

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
133 replies to this topic

#91 Anibal P

Anibal P

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-June 02
  • Location: Waterbury CT
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: Android

Posted 30 October 2012 - 03:07

Not sure what's sadder here, the OP who can't admit that all his "tweaking" of Windows is the real problem or the yahoo who made the retarded claim that Linux caused his hardware to fry, for the record there's nothing you can do in software that could damage hardware, nothing


#92 skilithead

skilithead

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-October 12

Posted 30 October 2012 - 03:15

Maybe the dingo ate your baby ? :punk:

#93 majortom1981

majortom1981

    The crazy one

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-November 01

Posted 30 October 2012 - 03:19

Some people like me are using retail discs with retail keys from tech net yet there is no add features for the media center key.

All people have to do is look on the technet forums

#94 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 30 October 2012 - 03:21

Not sure what's sadder here, the OP who can't admit that all his "tweaking" of Windows is the real problem or the yahoo who made the retarded claim that Linux caused his hardware to fry, for the record there's nothing you can do in software that could damage hardware, nothing


What about a bad bios flash from inside windows?

#95 Holey

Holey

    IT Support

  • Joined: 17-January 11

Posted 30 October 2012 - 03:25

Get a Monster Cable brand Ethernet cable and all your problems will go away. I had the same problem with an AMD chip using standard ethernet cable. It has something to do with the positrons hitting the bus at too high a rate getting conjamburated by the AMD's processing method that concatenates the data and ends up freezing under Windows because of the things.


I love you

#96 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 30 October 2012 - 03:26

I also know by posting this, the fanboys are going to come out and bash the **** out of me.

This forum doesn't need more flamewars. Why do you willingly spawn one? Your post has no content that can be discussed objectively. Why is this kind of thread not closed right away, I'll never know.

#97 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 30 October 2012 - 03:31

Some people like me are using retail discs with retail keys from tech net yet there is no add features for the media center key.

All people have to do is look on the technet forums


Then it's not retail Pro.

MSDN has the same retail Pro and features can be added.

Now several people have VLK licenses and those do not have the ability to do MC.

#98 Boo Berry

Boo Berry

    Neowinian Ghost

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 26-March 05
  • Location: United States
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit Mac OS X Yosemite 10.10.1 Ubuntu 14.10 64-bit

Posted 30 October 2012 - 03:33

You'll be back to Windows sooner or later. :p

#99 aviator189

aviator189

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-June 12

Posted 30 October 2012 - 03:43

I'm sure you're either lying or doing something completely wrong.

I bought all my machines from tigerdirect and bb and they all work fine. Just one crash on one of them in 2 years.

#100 Pam14160

Pam14160

    Lee

  • Joined: 12-November 07
  • Location: Idaho

Posted 30 October 2012 - 03:49

Just another ill informed computer user. . .this must be one of those average joes that has no idea what a computer is. . . :rolleyes:

Is there a real purpose why you are here whining.

#101 Ice_Blue

Ice_Blue

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-February 09
  • Location: The Den Of Zen
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia N8 Belle

Posted 30 October 2012 - 04:01

[snip]


However frustrated you are, try this. After all, what do you have to lose?

1. Set your BIOS to "BIOS Defaults", rather than "Performance Defaults".
2. Wipe your primary HDD.
3. Install Windows.
4. Do NOT install ANY third party software whatever.
5. Go to the Device Manager and check your ethernet adapter to see if it is functional.
6. If it is, enable automatic updates.
7. If it isn't, install the driver that came with your system, or go to another PC and download it from the manufacturer's site.
8. Once you have Internet access, restart your computer.
9. Leave the computer running like this for about 2 days (or about as long as you previously did until it started giving errors).

If after this period, you do not run into problems, install your other software one by one, with some normal usage between each install. This will help you pinpoint the cause of your problems.

This is all I can do to help, without being there.

Just another ill informed computer user. . .this must be one of those average joes that has no idea what a computer is. . . :rolleyes:

Is there a real purpose why you are here whining.


I guess you were born with all your IT knowledge.
What a crass attitude.

#102 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 30 October 2012 - 04:05

I guess you were born with all your IT knowledge.
What a crass attitude.


I won't comment too much...but evidently you haven't seen some of the prior threads by the OP. I'll say nicely (and Lakota please don't take this as an attack, I'm commenting so that this particular poster can understand) that there is a certain resistance to trying troubleshooting and in taking advice as it is offered.

Now this situation has gotten somewhat better, and I wish Lakota lived nearby since I'd love to look at that PC and see just what in the heck is going on.

#103 Xilo

Xilo

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 28-May 04
  • Location: Austin, TX

Posted 30 October 2012 - 04:06

Linux is a neverending problem of things breaking. Good luck because you will need it.

#104 Ice_Blue

Ice_Blue

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-February 09
  • Location: The Den Of Zen
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia N8 Belle

Posted 30 October 2012 - 04:12

I won't comment too much...but evidently you haven't seen some of the prior threads by the OP. I'll say nicely (and Lakota please don't take this as an attack, I'm commenting so that this particular poster can understand) that there is a certain resistance to trying troubleshooting and in taking advice as it is offered.

Now this situation has gotten somewhat better, and I wish Lakota lived nearby since I'd love to look at that PC and see just what in the heck is going on.


I understand.
I haven't read to many of his prior posts, but I was just trying to help.

#105 redvamp128

redvamp128

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 01

Posted 30 October 2012 - 04:14

Linux is a neverending problem of things breaking. Good luck because you will need it.


What things are you talking about? I myself have never had any issues with Linux, but have had more than my share of BSOD from Windows to include Windows 8.

Just remember the same could be said true about Windows.

I have since about 1995 ran at least one machine that Dual Booted both Windows and some variant of Linux/BSD.

Oh and something to note -- Have always had sound and flawless video as well as all devices working out of the box except for one wireless that I had to attach to a wired connection for it to get.