Jump to content



Photo

System Specs: I want to see this added to Neowin

request suggestion

  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12

Posted 16 November 2012 - 23:16

I was over at Overclock.net and I saw this:

system specs.jpg

Here's a link to the original post where I snapped this pic: http://www.overclock...e#post_18619649

I noticed a lot of members have their system specs in their sig, and just thought this would be beneficial. It would also keep people from having lengthy sigs, or have something other than their specs in their sig. I saw a thread stating they want subscribers to have more features: members can list 2 Rigs, and subscribers can list up to five. (The different tabsare viewed one at a time or hidden by clicking the hide button at the bottom) There should also be a tab for devices (all members can use this feature)---list your mobile device/tablet/ect.

Web Devs: Is it possible to integrate this feature into Neowin? How do my fellow Neowinians feel about this? If you have questions, or need mockups, just tell me. :)


#2 Timan

Timan

    Fade Away...

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 21-October 01
  • Location: Virginia, USA

Posted 16 November 2012 - 23:17

As a user with sigs turned off this would kinda drive me nuts.

Maybe we can have it show in profiles though?

#3 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 16 November 2012 - 23:18

It would help with troubleshooting...if people use it.

#4 +djdanster

djdanster

    Neowin elite

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-October 08
  • Location: England, Great Britain
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 White Frost

Posted 16 November 2012 - 23:19

This is a great idea! Would love to see this implemented. It would ease a lot of frustration in the Hardware Hangout!

As a user with sigs turned off this would kinda drive me nuts.

Maybe we can have it show in profiles though?


Could it not be placed under or above the signature? So a slide down box, similar to what is shown in the image above?

#5 Javik

Javik

    Beware the tyrrany of those that wield power

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 16 November 2012 - 23:20

I'd like to see something like this, it looks like a pretty neat feature.

#6 shakey

shakey

    It's soooooo Educational

  • Joined: 31-March 04
  • Location: Austin, Tx

Posted 16 November 2012 - 23:20

I agree that this should be an option to appear in Profiles only. Too much to be displayed in a post though, in almost every post. I'd be annoyed.

#7 Javik

Javik

    Beware the tyrrany of those that wield power

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-May 12

Posted 16 November 2012 - 23:21

I agree that this should be an option to appear in Profiles only. Too much to be displayed in a post though, in almost every post. I'd be annoyed.


I think it looks as if it would be hidden by default with a "show details" clickable

#8 Draconian Guppy

Draconian Guppy

    LippyZillaD Council

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 22-August 04
  • Location: Neowin

Posted 16 November 2012 - 23:23

I think it looks as if it would be hidden by default with a "show details" clickable

+1 It could be hidden by default in the sig and a clickable + sign to display it.

I've always considered Neowin to be a very customized forum, why conform to having such stale sigs? Dynamic clickable sigs!

#9 OP f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12

Posted 16 November 2012 - 23:24

As a user with sigs turned off this would kinda drive me nuts.

Maybe we can have it show in profiles though?


You're talking about this screen, right? It's a possibility.

screen1.jpg

#10 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 16 November 2012 - 23:24

I agree that this should be an option to appear in Profiles only. Too much to be displayed in a post though, in almost every post. I'd be annoyed.


It's collapsed...you have to expand it to see it...so it adds a couple pixels worth of width to the bottom of a post.

#11 shakey

shakey

    It's soooooo Educational

  • Joined: 31-March 04
  • Location: Austin, Tx

Posted 16 November 2012 - 23:25

I think it looks as if it would be hidden by default with a "show details" clickable


If this, it could work as well.

#12 OP f0rk_b0mb

f0rk_b0mb

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 02-June 12

Posted 16 November 2012 - 23:28

It's collapsed...you have to expand it to see it...so it adds a couple pixels worth of width to the bottom of a post.


True, but it might annoy some people. Maybe have the ability to hide it with sigs like stated above?

#13 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 14
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 16 November 2012 - 23:30

It would help with troubleshooting...if people use it.

I think that will be the problem. But hey, I'm all for it. Maybe it could be inside the popup box when you hover over a user's name, meaning that you wouldn't have to leave the thread to see the information while at the same time being hidden for when you didn't need it?

#14 Shane Nokes

Shane Nokes

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-July 12

Posted 16 November 2012 - 23:30

True, but it might annoy some people. Maybe have the ability to hide it with sigs like stated above?


Oh yeah. I was just addressing the thing about it being too much to see in every post. I think they meant seeing that whole list on every post. :)

#15 Glassed Silver

Glassed Silver

    ☆♡Neowin's portion of Crazy♡☆

  • Joined: 10-June 04
  • Location: MY CATFORT in Kassel, Germany
  • OS: OS X ML; W7; Elementary; Android 4
  • Phone: iPhone 5 64GB Black (6.0.2)

Posted 16 November 2012 - 23:36

If this, it could work as well.

Just slows the site down, might as well go to the profile then.

Also, not the biggest fan of splitting system info and help seeking posts.
A couple of years later on for example the issue cannot be fully inspected anymore as the new build config has taken over said required info about the troubles.
So for archival purposes this is bad.

It's also bad from a Google point of view.
When I hunt the internet for information, like lately I checked to see how to get a friend's graphics running in Ubuntu 10.04, the split up actually makes the post less relevant although it contains all the information for SOLVING the problem, just not all the information that I l used to find the solution.

Bad idea to split it up, so if anything, keep it a minimalistic thing on the profile page.
Maybe add an option to automatically implement the info (current as of writing) provided in the profile with a self-made BBCode kind of string.

This would have several advantages:
a) The info is easily appendable to your profile
b) all help posts remain searchable
c) system info would always be formatted the same in such posts, which I think many of us can agree would be a nice bonus over the specs being spread in full sentences all over
d) awesome factor!

Glassed Silver:mac