Jump to content



Photo

Multi Monitor Question

win8

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Wakers

Wakers

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-July 07

Posted 23 March 2013 - 15:06

Quick question.

I have two monitors. As you know, the taskbar in Win 8 is duplicated across both - is there a way via registry hack or a small program that allows me to launch a program depending on which taskbar I click on?

I.e. Click on Taskbar on monitor 1 and program opens on monitor 1?

At the moment the behaviour is that the program opens on the monitor that it was last open on, which is a bit irritating. I move stuff around all the time and use programs on different monitors depending on what I want my workflow to be - so sometimes a video will be open on monitor 1 and sometimes I'll want it open on 2.

It's especially annoying when you have a game open on Monitor 1 - but if you want to open a browser quickly it will open on monitor 1 as well, minimising the game and generally getting in the way.

Any ideas?


#2 voovode

voovode

    Pwrd by

  • Joined: 22-March 09
  • Location: Greece, Ptolemaida
  • OS: Win8 / Debian

Posted 25 March 2013 - 18:08

If you move the browser on Monitor2, the next time you start your browser it will be on Monitor2 *while gaming*.

Maybe this can do the trick for you.

#3 OP Wakers

Wakers

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-July 07

Posted 11 May 2013 - 18:08

Doesn't help as I'm constantly swapping what I want on which monitor. I'm not going to pay for something that goes through all the hassle of replacing the windows taskbar and adds a ton of other features I have no interest in. I was just after a simple registry hack or tiny app but there doesn't seem to be one.

#4 CougarDan

CougarDan

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 31-December 08

Posted 11 May 2013 - 18:18

How would there be a simple registry hack to remember the position/placement of individual programs based on your preference? ;)

I've used the Ultramon program voovode suggested and would recommend DisplayFusion instead. It is a paid program as well, but does offer the options you're looking for in addition to other 'features'.

http://www.displayfu...WindowLocation/

#5 OP Wakers

Wakers

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-July 07

Posted 11 May 2013 - 19:03

It doesn't have to remember anything?

Windows has two different taskbars. Windows is aware of this as you can choose to have the second taskbar displayed or hidden, so it must be referenced in the registry somewhere. I'm just wondering why it's so hard to realise from which taskbar a program icon is clicked on and open it on that monitor.

That's got nothing to do with remembering positions or anything complicated it's "oh, he's clicked firefox on monitor 2, lets open it on monitor 2." I didn't think it would be a hard concept to explain / code.

#6 UXGaurav

UXGaurav

    Tried Classic Shell? It has 25 million+ downloads & growing

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-October 05
  • Location: Windows
  • OS: Windows

Posted 12 May 2013 - 19:05

Best software for this from my own personal experience is Actual Multiple Monitors.