Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8.1 2014 Update Leaked To Web

win8.1

  • Please log in to reply
72 replies to this topic

#31 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 03 February 2014 - 20:11

you have the ability to make them not full screen. its called snapping.

vcfan - most of the Neowinians (and especially the critics) know this - look at the old Windows Developer Preview and Consumer Preview threads, where snapping was shown in photo after photo.

It's not enough.  These are painful reminders of the same sort of folks that Andy Rathbone has a whole CHAPTER devoted to in his series of "Dummies Press" Windows books - "How do I Make It Work Like My OLD Windows?"

 

There is a technical term for such people - it's called "fanaticism".




#32 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 03 February 2014 - 20:17

The start button that shows up in the lower left corner when in the metro UI probably won't change even if you've moved the position of the task bar, it's not connected to the taskbar UI at all, they're independent of each other. The top left corner is also where you go to bring up the metro task switcher, it's a set hot corner.  The best one could hope for is Windows 9 and the new menu but that would negate the full start screen and it's task switcher in the end so it works out.

 

Though with how quick this update is coming and how much they've added it could've been called 8.2 IMO. I also think we could see yet another update 2 in Oct-Nov time.



#33 BajiRav

BajiRav

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-July 04
  • Location: Xbox, where am I?
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 03 February 2014 - 20:21

Having full screen apps without the ability to make them not full screen is a dumb idea (not being able to window).. which is what I said.

which is completely unrelated to....what I said.



#34 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 03 February 2014 - 20:29

you have the ability to make them not full screen. its called snapping.

^ This x100000000000000000000000000. And it's something I've explained to firey before.



#35 firey

firey

    F͎̗͉͎͈͑͡ȉ͎̣̐́ṙ͖̺͕͙̓̌è̤̞͉̟̲͇̍̍̾̓ͥͅy͓̍̎̌̏̒

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 30-October 05
  • Location: Alberta, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Android (4.4.2)

Posted 03 February 2014 - 20:38

^ This x100000000000000000000000000. And it's something I've explained to firey before.

 

And as I have explained to you.. snapping is nice and all.. if you want to use up the full vertical space.  You can't have it have say.. 4 windows on the screen each using half width and height.  You can't replace windowing apps with snapping.. it just doesn't work.



#36 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware) It sucks!!!

Posted 03 February 2014 - 21:59

As people might around know, I am obsessed with browsers. So checking IE 11.0.3:
Another WebGL extension support:
 
11.0.2
EY0YHjZ.png

11.0.3
tWL3WgO.png

Another new option of developer tools:
13nHp0b.png

#37 Sergey "hb860"

Sergey "hb860"

    EdgeUI

  • Joined: 24-August 10

Posted 03 February 2014 - 22:04

Enterpise Mode unlocker for IE 11



#38 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 03 February 2014 - 22:11

Also saying "full screen apps are a dumb idea" is a dumb comment. Even on the desktop, lots of apps work best when they're full screen, specially any creative tools. I've never used PhotoShop windowed, it's always full screen. Same with others, hell some even extend the apps to multiple monitors.

You've been using Photoshop maximized, not metro-style fullscreen where it hides the taskbar, cannot be minimized to the taskbar and cannot let any other window on top of it. I think that's a pretty big difference.



#39 B0mberman

B0mberman

    Silence is the key to Wisdom

  • Joined: 25-June 07
  • Location: CPT
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Galaxy S2 CM

Posted 03 February 2014 - 22:19

I don't have to fight the app to get to the titlebar at all, I think that was just zach's VM having a derp moment.

to add to that, Zach mentions alot of the new stuff is still buggy, aka the black titlebar as per video and it only takes simple logic to see that. So no "fighting" will be involved at the end, since clicking an x button sure is better than holding the app, dragging it down and holding it there for 2 seconds to officially "close". Finaly they are fixing clear design mistakes not meant for desktop users with a mouse and keyboard.



#40 BajiRav

BajiRav

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 15-July 04
  • Location: Xbox, where am I?
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 03 February 2014 - 22:23

You've been using Photoshop maximized, not metro-style fullscreen where it hides the taskbar, cannot be minimized to the taskbar and cannot let any other window on top of it. I think that's a pretty big difference.

What if his taskbar is set to auto hide? :p



#41 Andre S.

Andre S.

    Asik

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 26-October 05

Posted 03 February 2014 - 22:32

What if his taskbar is set to auto hide? :p

That doesn't allow a maximized application to hide the taskbar; it's the taskbar that'll actually hide the application, partially, when you bring it up.



#42 Rafael

Rafael

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-December 04

Posted 03 February 2014 - 22:49

Awesome, didn't see that in 8.1. So they haven't removed that feature at least.

 

Thanks for the heads up.

 

 

Just seemed odd it was a touted feature in update 1 that I thought it was a 'new thing'.

 

The news you saw earlier was in regards to Microsoft booting to the desktop by default. This build doesn't have all the bits in place that drive that feature/change.



#43 vcfan

vcfan

    Doing the Humpty Dance

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 12-June 11

Posted 03 February 2014 - 22:53

You've been using Photoshop maximized, not metro-style fullscreen where it hides the taskbar, cannot be minimized to the taskbar and cannot let any other window on top of it. I think that's a pretty big difference.

 

I am running photoshop full screen with no taskbar,no title bar,cant be minimized,and and cannot let any other window on top of it.

 

Tab-F-F-Tab



#44 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 03 February 2014 - 23:20

You've been using Photoshop maximized, not metro-style fullscreen where it hides the taskbar, cannot be minimized to the taskbar and cannot let any other window on top of it. I think that's a pretty big difference.

Why are you trying to work in Photoshop, then want windows over top of it? If you have windows over top of Photoshop, then you are not working in Photoshop...

 

And so what if there's no taskbar? Why do you need that to work in Photoshop? What's the difference between it, and the metro task switcher, or ALT-TAB for that matter? Instead of moving your mouse down and clicking the application, you just need to move it to the top left corner, then click the application. Boom.



#45 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 03 February 2014 - 23:35

You've been using Photoshop maximized, not metro-style fullscreen where it hides the taskbar, cannot be minimized to the taskbar and cannot let any other window on top of it. I think that's a pretty big difference.

I use the taskbar like I use the start screen, to start apps, alt+tab is what I use to switch. This need for a taskbar to be there, specially for apps that are more for touch makes less sense until you can have them windowed. The whole argument was that having full screen only apps was dumb, that's so narrow and silly to say, even if you had access to the taskbar or not that's a different argument in the end.