Jump to content



Photo

Activate Windows before Updating?

Answered Go to the full post win7 win8

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 dipsylalapo

dipsylalapo

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-June 07
  • Location: Camberley
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 11 August 2014 - 09:30

I wanted to upgrade my HDD in my laptop so thought a clean install on Windows would be a good idea too. I completed the install of Windows 8 with no issues. When trying to activate it, it came back with an error message stating that a previous version of Windows could not be found and a clean install wasn't allowed. What I hadn't realised was that I purchase an upgrade version of 8.

 

I have a purchased copy of Windows 7 that I'm able to install but not sure if I'll be able to activate it because after purchasing 8 I installed (and activated) 7 on another machine. 

 

Can I install Windows 7, not activate it and install 8 with no issues?

 

 



Best Answer Tomo , 11 August 2014 - 10:30

  1. Press the Windows key and type regedit. Press enter to open the Registry Editor.
  2. Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/Software/Microsoft/Windows/CurrentVersion/Setup/OOBE/and double-click on the MediabootInstall key in the right pane.
  3. Change the key's value from 1 to 0.
  4. Exit the Registry Editor, press the Windows key again, and type cmd. Right-click on the Command Prompt icon and run it as an administrator.
  5. Type slmgr /rearm and press Enter.
  6. Reboot Windows.
Go to the full post



#2 StrikedOut

StrikedOut

    Outside the box

  • Joined: 09-December 08
  • Location: Southampton

Posted 11 August 2014 - 09:34

I would be surprised if you can, certainty not legally as the 8 license is to compliment the 7 so both would need to be installed on a single machine. Otherwise what you would have done is purchase a second license at a discounted price for a purpose other than what it was intended for.

#3 +Frank B.

Frank B.

    Member N° 1,302

  • Tech Issues Solved: 12
  • Joined: 18-September 01
  • Location: Frankfurt, DE
  • OS: OS X 10.10
  • Phone: iPhone 6

Posted 11 August 2014 - 09:41

You could try if this works: http://lifehacker.co...an-upgrade-disc



#4 OP dipsylalapo

dipsylalapo

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-June 07
  • Location: Camberley
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 11 August 2014 - 09:48

Thanks I may give those a try. 

 

Another thing I have no issue trying is installing my copy of Win 7 but how will activating an already activated copy of Windows work (if at all)? Will it work for the short time I need to run 7 and then upgrade to 8?



#5 elenarie

elenarie

    Newbie .NET / game dev

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 23-March 14
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Lumia 920 Yellow

Posted 11 August 2014 - 10:09

For an already activated key, it will detect whether the new activation of that key is equal or similar to the previous one. If so, it will all go just fine. Else it will give you an error message that you can fix by activating by phone (this deactivates the previous activation and activates the key on the new install). That is for the same OS, I have no idea how it works across different OSes.



#6 OP dipsylalapo

dipsylalapo

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-June 07
  • Location: Camberley
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 11 August 2014 - 10:30

For an already activated key, it will detect whether the new activation of that key is equal or similar to the previous one. If so, it will all go just fine. Else it will give you an error message that you can fix by activating by phone (this deactivates the previous activation and activates the key on the new install). That is for the same OS, I have no idea how it works across different OSes.

 

Right I see, I have a busy evening I guess :p Will let you know how I get on. Thanks again.



#7 Tomo

Tomo

    IT Engineer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 17-August 01
  • Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Posted 11 August 2014 - 10:30   Best Answer

  1. Press the Windows key and type regedit. Press enter to open the Registry Editor.
  2. Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/Software/Microsoft/Windows/CurrentVersion/Setup/OOBE/and double-click on the MediabootInstall key in the right pane.
  3. Change the key's value from 1 to 0.
  4. Exit the Registry Editor, press the Windows key again, and type cmd. Right-click on the Command Prompt icon and run it as an administrator.
  5. Type slmgr /rearm and press Enter.
  6. Reboot Windows.


#8 Neu B

Neu B

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-April 11

Posted 11 August 2014 - 11:22

You don't have to activate 7 or do any updates. I tested this when I first got 8 and it worked.



#9 OP dipsylalapo

dipsylalapo

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-June 07
  • Location: Camberley
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 11 August 2014 - 11:28

You don't have to activate 7 or do any updates. I tested this when I first got 8 and it worked.

 

If that's the case, that's perfect. Thanks again for everyone's input.


Can a moderator lock this topic or something? I have the answer that I need :D



#10 InsaneNutter

InsaneNutter

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 15-March 03
  • Location: Yorkshire, England
  • OS: Win 8.1, OSX 10.10 & Ubuntu
  • Phone: OnePlus One

Posted 11 August 2014 - 11:34

If that's the case, that's perfect. Thanks again for everyone's input.

Can a moderator lock this topic or something? I have the answer that I need :D


You have actually been provided with a solution that will save you having to re-install Windows 7 and then upgrade to Windows 8.
 

  • Press the Windows key and type regedit. Press enter to open the Registry Editor.
  • Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/Software/Microsoft/Windows/CurrentVersion/Setup/OOBE/and double-click on the MediabootInstall key in the right pane.
  • Change the key's value from 1 to 0.
  • Exit the Registry Editor, press the Windows key again, and type cmd. Right-click on the Command Prompt icon and run it as an administrator.
  • Type slmgr /rearm and press Enter.
  • Reboot Windows.


#11 OP dipsylalapo

dipsylalapo

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-June 07
  • Location: Camberley
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 11 August 2014 - 11:48

You have actually been provided with a solution that will save you having to re-install Windows 7 and then upgrade to Windows 8.
 

 

Correct you are.



#12 OP dipsylalapo

dipsylalapo

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 27-June 07
  • Location: Camberley
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 12 August 2014 - 07:39

Update - Clean install follow instructions that Tomo posted and it worked a treat. Now back up and running. 

 

Thanks again all.