Jump to content



Photo

Meet Firefox Next

firefox

3728 replies to this topic

#31 Steve B.

Steve B.

    Neowinian British One

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 12-January 09
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Apple iPhone 4S

Posted 13 April 2011 - 13:49

Okay, thanks for clearing that up!


So think of it as Nightly = Chrome Dev, Aurora = Chrome Beta, Stable = Stable.


#32 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 13 April 2011 - 13:51

Posted Image

First official 6.0 nightlies are out, onwards to 7.0!

#33 Audioboxer

Audioboxer

    Hermit Arcana

  • Joined: 01-December 03
  • Location: UK, Scotland

Posted 13 April 2011 - 13:53

So think of it as Nightly = Chrome Dev, Aurora = Chrome Beta, Stable = Stable.


Yup, adopting that mindset now. I'll probably try running the nightlies now that they've revamped the icon/graphics. Bit wary of extensions breaking though, but we'll see - Chrome doesn't really have this problem on dev.

#34 vasa1

vasa1

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 31-January 11

Posted 13 April 2011 - 13:54

So think of it as Nightly = Chrome Dev, Aurora = Chrome Beta, Stable = Stable.


Won't it be more like:
Nightly = Canary
Aurora = Dev
Beta = Beta ?

#35 OP bogas04

bogas04

    This title is bogus

  • Joined: 15-May 09
  • Location: India
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 13 April 2011 - 14:02

Won't it be more like:
Nightly = Canary
Aurora = Dev
Beta = Beta ?


yes

#36 Steve B.

Steve B.

    Neowinian British One

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 12-January 09
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Apple iPhone 4S

Posted 13 April 2011 - 14:02

Won't it be more like:
Nightly = Canary
Aurora = Dev
Beta = Beta ?


Looking at the roadmap, yeah, that seems much more sensible. (Y)

Also liking how you can swap channels.

#37 ViZioN

ViZioN

    Resident Scotsman

  • Joined: 17-January 05
  • Location: Edinburgh

Posted 13 April 2011 - 18:06

Has anyone managed to enable extension compatibility for the new 6.0a1 Nightly? I tried adding extensions.CheckCompatibility6.0a1 == false and extensions.disableCheckCompatibility == true but it seems to have no effect.

#38 kilara1988

kilara1988

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-September 10

Posted 13 April 2011 - 18:10

It works with extensions.CheckCompatibility6.0a.

#39 ViZioN

ViZioN

    Resident Scotsman

  • Joined: 17-January 05
  • Location: Edinburgh

Posted 13 April 2011 - 18:47

It works with extensions.CheckCompatibility6.0a.


Thanks but tried this command (even making the first 'c' lower-case) but my addons are still disabled. Tried adding a extensions.disableCheckCompatibility == true also seems to have no effect. Are you sure it was that command you added and not some other tool that disables compatibility checking? What am I missing?

#40 ViperAFK

ViperAFK

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 07-March 06
  • Location: Vermont

Posted 13 April 2011 - 19:56

You need a period before the number, like:
extensions.CheckCompatibility.6.0a1

#41 ViZioN

ViZioN

    Resident Scotsman

  • Joined: 17-January 05
  • Location: Edinburgh

Posted 13 April 2011 - 20:11

You need a period before the number, like:
extensions.CheckCompatibility.6.0a1


Thanks :) This did the trick.

#42 kilara1988

kilara1988

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-September 10

Posted 13 April 2011 - 20:45

Oh.My bad.Didn't see i forgot the period before the version number.

#43 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 13 April 2011 - 20:50

Ive just had my 2nd update in about 2 hours - says 6.0a1

#44 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 13 April 2011 - 20:57

Nice to see that once again Firefox is becoming primarily a Windows browser with Mac and Linux users supported by accident rather than actually deliberately designing for the platform. Promises of OpenGL accelerated layers in Firefox 5.0 and low and behold they've failed to deliver - why aren't I surprised.


Blame the platforms (OS X 10.6+ and X.org) - not the browser. Mesa has not even caught up to *Windows* in terms of OpenGL support, and even OS X 10.7 DP2 is even further back.

Also, both OS X and Linux distributions have continually refused to allow the same UI as Firefox 4 uses on Windows today. (Firefox 4's UI on Linux is identical to that of Firefox 3; what's up with that?)

#45 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 13 April 2011 - 21:05

True, but x64 browsers ATM, aren't ready for primetime yet. They're kinda like Office x64, nice to have, but not really needed by 99.9% of users.

That said, I hope IE10 x64 has the new JS engine IE9 x86 has.


If you have multiple mailboxes (say, GMail/GoogleMail and that of your ISP), Outlook 2010 x64 is a better choice than the same mail application in x32. The problem with Office 2010 x64 (like IE x64) is the lack of add-ons and plug-ins; most of the x64 plug-ins and add-ons that do exist were Microsoft-written.

I switched up with 2010 for exactly that reason - I have GMail and my ISP mail acount; both of which get a crapton of e-mail. Outlook 2010 x32 would bog down, if not flat-out fall down, while 2010 x64 runs like a champ, even using GMail's IMAP defaults.

Where x64 plug-ins and add-ons exist, Office, like IE (or even Firefox) is a lot more stable in x64 (stability FTW).