Apple Stole My Music. No, Seriously.

Source: https://blog.vellumatlanta.com/2016/05/04/apple-stole-my-music-no-seriously/

Long read, some excerpts.

“The software is functioning as intended,” said Amber.
“Wait,” I asked, “so it’s supposed to delete my personal files from my internal hard drive without asking my permission?”
“Yes,” she replied.

What Amber explained was exactly what I’d feared: through the Apple Music subscription, which I had, Apple now deletes files from its users’ computers. When I signed up for Apple Music, iTunes evaluated my massive collection of Mp3s and WAV files, scanned Apple’s database for what it considered matches, then removed the original files from my internal hard drive. REMOVED them. Deleted. If Apple Music saw a file it didn’t recognize—which came up often, since I’m a freelance composer and have many music files that I created myself—it would then download it to Apple’s database, delete it from my hard drive, and serve it back to me when I wanted to listen, just like it would with my other music files it had deleted.

And this is why I have a strong distaste for Apple. I still can't music I purchased through iTunes back. The awesome "one time download" only. ###### Apple.

Why does this surprise anyone when it comes to that company?

• Like 1

iTunes deleted well over half my local music files on my MacBook Pro (and also made many incorrect matches, which is still continues to do), but didn't do it on my Desktop PC (where it seems to work like it's supposed to), which makes me think it's less about a bad policy and more about badly written software.

Well this is why BitTorrent and P2P was made! 

And I would never advocate piracy :shiftyninja:.

But one must do what they must to get back what is rightfully theirs and paid for.

1 hour ago, Mud W1ggle said:

Why does this surprise anyone when it comes to that company?