Falcon 9: Iridium NEXT #3 (21-30) (mission thread)

Recommended Posts

DocM    12,652

If the Echostar 105/SES-11 launch date holds, we may be in for another double header.

 

F9: Iridium NEXT #3 (21-30)

Core Number 1041.1
Location: Vandenberg SLC-4E
Launch Djate: October 4
Launch Time:0606 PDT, 0906 EDT, 1306 UTC 
Stage Landing: ASDS 'Just Read the Instructions'
Iridium Plane: 4

  • Like 1
  • Love 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Unobscured Vision    2,138

Awww yeah. :yes: :rofl:

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
DocM    12,652

As expected, a slip

 

Date: October 9
Time: waiting for Iridium to confirm

 

Still a double-header with Echostar-105/SES-11.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
DocM    12,652

TIME: 0537 PDT 0837 EDT, 1237 UTC

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
DocM    12,652
Posted (edited)

Monday October  9

 

0837 EDT, 0537 PDT, 1237 GMT

 


 

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
+John.    1,209

Webcast is up and counting down. 50 mins until go time

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Jim K    8,917

Pretty launch/landing.  2nd stage cut off ... coast phase for about 40 minutes (so I guess around 930 est for the Iridium deployments?) 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Unobscured Vision    2,138

SpaceX is making this look routine. We like routine. So does Mil/Gov and Commercial. :yes: 

 

I have yet to actually watch the launch, though. Just saw Twitter stuff with pics saying it went fine. I'll watch in a bit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
DocM    12,652

This one was about a minute quicker between launch and Landing than most of the others. Have to see what the scuttlebutt is about that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
anthdci    127
18 hours ago, Unobscured Vision said:

SpaceX is making this look routine. We like routine.

I was just thinking that when I watched the first stage land. It is soon going to get to the point where your as excited to see a S1 land as you are a passenger airliner, ie not at all.

  • Like 1
  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
+rdlenk    92

 

3 hours ago, anthdci said:

I was just thinking that when I watched the first stage land. It is soon going to get to the point where your as excited to see a S1 land as you are a passenger airliner, ie not at all.

I don't know, I still get excited when planes land and take off and they're not even on fire. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
DocM    12,652

Methinks seeing that big BFR booster and the BFS spaceship land might get some people's blood pumping again.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
+John.    1,209
9 hours ago, DocM said:

Methinks seeing that big BFR booster and the BFS spaceship land might get some people's blood pumping again.

I'll be happy when I see two boosters side by side and one on a ship, can't wait for Heavy

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
anthdci    127
9 hours ago, DocM said:

Methinks seeing that big BFR booster and the BFS spaceship land might get some people's blood pumping again.

I'm with +John, seeing 2 side boosters from the falcon heavy coming down at the same time will be enough. i really hope they get the demo flight ready for when im over there in january but im not expecting it now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
+John.    1,209
On 10/10/2017 at 2:36 AM, DocM said:

This one was about a minute quicker between launch and Landing than most of the others. Have to see what the scuttlebutt is about that.

Hey Doc did we find out why it was a whole minute quicker?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
DocM    12,652

Basically,  there was no desire to land it overweight. This was a light payload and, as usual, thely launch with a flull propellant load.

 

This time the ASDS was placed closer to the range so the stage could do a long boost back burn and thereby use up excess propellants. A boosting rocket moves much faster than the coasting rocket, so...

 

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.