Setting Share Permissions & ACL's remotely to ubuntu 16.04 Samba file server via Windows Server 2012 r2

OpSupport

Hi all, 

I've been looking around the forums and trying to find an answer via search but I have been unable to thus far. I'm hoping someone can give me a hand. I'm very new to Linux and Samba but my bosses wanted me to set up a new file server on Ubuntu that can integrate with AD and have users be able to authenticate with their AD credentials. So far I have managed to get Ubuntu 16.04 installed, Kerberos configured and the system added to my AD domain. Everything is working fine. I am able to see my new file server in AD users and computers and DNS is working correctly, things are pingable and resolving right. 

My issue is that I am trying to use the instructions in the Samba wiki to set the share permissions and ACL on a share which I have created on my Samba server as it indicates that I shouldn't use the smb.conf to add the parameters, but instead use the Windows utilities ( https://wiki.samba.org/index.php/Setting_up_a_Share_Using_Windows_ACLs ) Unfortunately, despite everything else working correctly when I try to connect via my 2012 r2 server to the remote Samba I get an error " Computer <new server> cannot be managed. Verify hat the network path is correct, the computer is available on the network, and that the appropriate Windows Firewall rules are enabled on the target computer" Sadly, there are NO "Windows Firewall rules" since its a Ubuntu box and considering that the computer IS perfectly visible in the AD, the snap-in can find it when I 'browse', it can be ping'd and the UFW is off, I am at a loss as to what could possibly be the issue.

Anyone out there who has integrated a Ubuntu file server using Samba onto AD can point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

Mindovermaster

I think  that only applies to Windows systems. You are on Linux, use the smb.conf.