Which Linux for a newbie who doesn't like change ... coming from Windows (7)?

I'm one of those people who doesn't like change, yet i'm also curious & wouldn't mind giving Linux a 'proper go'.

With there being a few available i don't really know where to begin other than i know i wont want anything technical as it'll turn me off instantly. Something that feels a bit Windows-like, but yet isn't.

To take it further - would i be able to install it on a USB drive (if so then suggested capacity?)? I don't particularly want to have to partition off the existing HDDs in my PC. So if it's possible i was thinking of a USB pen drive, install some version of Linux on this and then boot to the USB drive on startup.

If that's possible (i'm a novice so don't know if it is) then my next wondering is

A) storage once Linux is up & running, such as saving photos etc. Would they save to the USB drive you have Linux installed on or would you be ok to just attach another USB drive once Linux is up and running?

B) How would you 'save state' if you get me? You make changes once it's all fired up, create settings, bookmark pages etc - how would you save this? Again, would it just save to the USB drive that Linux is installed on?

I'm sure i'll end up having more questions but that's plenty for now. Thanks.

Note: I've seen some images of various Linux with images up the side on the desktop for example. Not my thing if i'm honest. I prefer the look of those that appear to have a start menu. Like i said, i'm the guy who is curious but doesn't like (too much) change :)

The two distros that come to mind for getting into Linux is Mint and Ubuntu.  I've probably used 10+ distros and always come back to Ubuntu. My first Ubuntu experience was Ubuntu 4.10 Warty Warthog. I'm not a huge fan of all the changes over the past 3-4 years with Ubuntu, but after doing some research on what you don't like, you'll find ways to fix and make it your own. Their forums are great.