Your favorite Automator Workflows

So the only thing that I use automator is to automatically transfer my .avi,.mpg,.mov downloads into a particular folder every night @ 2 and also to copy them to an external hard drive across my network on my windows pc. Works great for that but havn't been able to come up with much else to use it for. Post your favorite or most common workflows here.

I have one I use to make a new mail message and attach the selected files to it.

This is just a question, but why not just drag those files onto the Mail icon in your dock? Mail automatically makes a new message with those files attached when you do so.

Because I am a Mac noob and didnt know you could do that :p thanks for the tip! :)

:laugh: Haha. Just a little Mac tip of the day. Try dragging and dropping a bit. Common sense things (like most drag and drop) usually yield awesome results.

Here are some of mine:

Renaming files & folders for windows

I converted a load of mac icons to windows icons & png files with pixadex.

But when sending the files & folders to my pc i kept getting error messages saying windows can't read the following characters in the file names (or something like that)

OS X uses some characters in file/folder names that windows doesn't like (e.g. |, /, " & ?).

So i created a workflow that looks for these characters in files & folder names on the desktop & renames them removing those characters.

I ran the workflow & can now send all the files my pc :)

Tidy the desktop

I always accumulate loads of files on my desktop. I have a folder on my hard drive called temp stuff, & every now when it's getting too messy I then dump all the files into this folder to sort out later.

So I created a workflow that will find all the image files on the desktop & move them to a folder called Images in the temp stuff folder.

It also finds all the documents on the desktop & moves them to a folder called Documents in the temp stuff folder.