Opinions on cameras for outdoor sports.

I am a photography newbie and could use some help with finding the right camera. Some of my hobbies include mountain and road cycling at the amatuer racing level. I also spend a lot of times outdoors and would be taking lots of scenic pictures or outdoor events under various weather and lighting conditions. I would like to find a camera kit with a suitable lense for outdoor zooms from mountain top views, etc. I would like to keep my purchase under $1000 USD. I have read reviews for D50, D70s, and Digital Rebel XT - would anyone suggests one of these models over another for outdoor conditions? Or another model altogether?

Well, the Canon will probably focus quicker than the Nikons for reasonnably close-up sports photography. The D70 is a more expensive camera, but ti does have features not included with the D50, which most photographers don't use (I do though and couldn't live without those features). I actually have very little experience with Canon cameras aside from occasionally trying them out (Nikon person myself).

Remember you'll need a decent sized and probably quick memory card as well.