Vista's Fake Symlink Support

Computer Guru
Symlinks haven't really been added to Windows Vista. It seems that the only calls to the symlink API Windows Vista occur during the creation of such files or when accessing them from Windows Explorer. What this means is, you can't access symlinks from another OS. To be fair, you probably didn't expect to be able to dual-boot into XP and suddenly have access to the symlinks you created on the Vista partition earlier that day. But then again, you probably expected to be able to access these symlinks through a network share/UNC path or as files on a webserver - But you can't!

Article: Vista Symlinks Revisited...

Article 2: Vista Get's Symlinks - Read it for info on what Symlinks are

Source: NeoSmart Technologies

Edited by Computer Guru
Boogiman

Symlinks

This isn't as complete an explanation as I'd like to give. I'll probably fix this as soon as final exams are over here at MIT (I'm an undergraduate).

A symlink is a UNIX thing. I think there's a similar concept on Macintoshes called an "alias". (Mac people, please fill me in on this, or correct me.) Basically, it's a filename that has associated with it a string rather than the contents of a file. This string is the name of another file to which the symlink points. If you try to read the symlink, you see the file-to-which-is-pointed-by-the-string. You can make symlinks to anything that is in a UNIX filesystem, including regular files and directories. I use them a lot to make links from one place in my home directory to others places, especially when people might look in more than one place to find a bit of information or a file they're trying to find.

You create symbolic links with the command

Gooooooogle is your friend :)

Sniper101

Thats abit stupid (Well Done Microsoft)...This going to mean symlinks created in XP will not work within Vista? It kinda sounds like it.

Looks like they Droped something without publishing it (Keeping it a secret)

Computer Guru