Which Flash to use with Nikon D60?

Hello Guys,

Best place to get any answer is here...I know it for a fact.

So here is a question to all the experts and amateur expert, I have a Nikon D60 and some of the night pictures are not that great (lighting is off) so I know I need and external flash.

I have been looking at the SB-600 and SB-800 I see both can be wireless flashes (Not sure if thats the correct way of saying that). Let me also say that I am totally new to photography and just recently exploring this hobby, some one already told me that I wasted money on the D60 and should have gone with the D40 (its almost the same except for the pixel). I don't want to make another mistake by getting an expensive flash (about $150 difference I think).

Can someone please help me with this:

what I want is to just attach the flash to the camera and take pictures and if I need to take the flash out and put it on the tripod and use a light for a different effect. Do SB-800 and SB-600 support that or does my camera supports that?

I really appreciate all the help you guys have given to me and hope to hear some good advice from you all.

Thanks! :D

Either one will do wireless. I went w/ the SB600 just cuz it was like half the price of the SB800 and offered 80% of the features of the SB800. I still don't know all of the settings on the SB600, so I'm pretty sure that'll work just fine for you.

Can somebody confirm if the D60 works with Nikon's wireless flash system? Cuz I have a feeling it doesn't. If it doesn't, you'll need nikon's wireless adapter, the SU-800, which is just as expensive as a flash unit :(

The D60 or SB-600 doesn't have the commander mode system like the higher end models. You can trigger a flash wirelessly with the pop up flash, but it'll be in full manual. (no i-ttl)