Recommend a DSLR for beginner

Hi!

I want to pick a DSLR. I'm a beginner/amateur and my budget is limited to 450-500$ max or 300-350 Euros. Are cameras cheaper in Europe by any chance ?

Please recommend. I'm fond of photography and I want to upgrade from my Sony Digital Cybershot to something better.

Thanks

From what I know cameras are the cheapest in the US. When you say cheaper in Europe are you saying in relation to India? Do you have any brand preference?

I suppose your price range is for the Body + a Kit Lens.

Good candidates in you price range include (in alphabetical order):

Canon Rebel XS (1000D)

Canon Rebel XTi (400D)

Nikon D40

Nikon D60

Olympus E420

Pentax K2000

Sony Alpha A200

It would depend on how much you find them for. There are newer/better models but they'll cost more.

I have the A200 and I find it's a great camera. I would definitely recommend it and IMO handles extremely well (not feeling much like an entry-level DSLR).

Edit: Some info

http://www.anandtech.com/digitalcameras/sh...?i=3434&p=1

http://www.popphoto.com/Reviews/Cameras/So...200-Camera-Test

http://www.popphoto.com/Reviews/Cameras/Ca...-Test-Nikon-D60

http://www.popphoto.com/Reviews/Cameras/Ha...-Rebel-XS-1000D

Edited by Argote

I don't mind Camera + Lens kit.

Thanks, let me go through them and no i don't have a brand preference as such but I have heard Nikon makes good DSLR's

Nikon D5000

$450 to $500 huh? If you can honestly find them at that price with a lens send me 5 plz, I'm gonna make a fortune reselling them.

I've got an A200, and having used a LOT of cameras before this one, it is clear that the Sony A200 is by far the easiest to use while not lacking features. It's menu system works like your random cellphone instead of the strange button combinations I've never managed to figure out on Nikon's and Canon's. For starters, it's really one of the best cameras. (and people with the 'not many lenses' argument should really have a look at some online stores)