cheapest camera with image stabilization?

by far the biggest problem i have with my pictures is the motion blur... i need slow shutter times for some photographic effects and taking a tripod with me isnt an option, so the camera has to keep its view straight somehow...

are there cameras out there which are focused on optical image stabilization? i've seen a lens piece with a motion compensating lens in a store catalog, and in another store i've found a camea with 'sensor shift image stabilization' ... shaking that camera makes a slight rattling noise, i assume its the ccd inside being held loosely

anyway, i am not a pro photographer, and i would like to focus my spending on solving my blurry pictures problem... which cameras would you suggest?

I'd concentrate more on keeping yourself stable.??Remember, arms in!

i've tried that and its still not helping good enough for the night shots

the camera needs to do something on its end for me

You can try those low end cameras with IS. The Canon Axxx IS series comes to mind for ~$100...although it can't match the IS on SLR lenses.

I'd find something with IS, a nice aperture lens and possibly good higher ISO performance. I'm assuming you want a Point and Shoot camera so I'll point you to the Panasonic Lumix line or the Canon PowerShots.

is it like the entire Panasonic Lumix line has optical image stabilization?

also, how conceivable is it that a point and shoot could produce stabler images than a slr with a stabilized lens... i will spend more if i have to

My Sony Alpha A200 has IS (in-body, so it makes some noise at slow shutter speeds) and to be honest, it doesn't help that much. It can filter out very small movements, but the 'center' of your moves will always have to be the same. If you shake a little bit to the left after 1s and for the next 2s you don't go back to the right (which is very probable since it's such a small difference) you will still get a blurry shot.