No Experience in Photography

Hi there neowin!

As the title says , I have no experience in digital photography. But have always appreciated the art. I have owned a few compact style point and shoots, and have recently upgraded to another point and shoot, this time it's a Pentax X90. From what understand, it's a bridge like camera between point and shoot and DSLR. My main use for this camera is taking a lot of shots of my children, they are young so most of them are action shots. I would like to start to get into digital photography for personal use later on. How does the neowin community feel about the camera?? Did I make the right choice? Should I have chosen the CannonSX130 or something simular instead?? maybe take the plunge into the DSLR world, etc???

Ok, well since you asked, here is my opinion. I don't have much experience with the X90 but I'm sure it's a perfectly good camera that takes decent photos. Personally if you are going to buy a camera that big, you might as well buy a dslr. I guess my reasoning being that you can invest money in lenses that will last many many years as opposed to a camera or camera body. I think the thing I like most about a small point and shoot is the fact I can take it so many more places. Personally, I would buy either a small point and shoot or a dslr. I find a miss out on a lot of things just because I'm too lazy to take my dslr with me. I'm sure you will enjoy your new camera though. Have fun.

Point n shoot cameras are perfect for on the road or a spur of moment shots, etc.

If you get DSLR, you will have to change lens for close-up shots, zoom lens for sports, etc.. plus you have to carry camera bag for lens and other accessories .... all you carry 1 thing in your pocket is point and shoot camera..