Just Bought D700

Well it's taken awhile and as some of you remember I was asking about camera gear to upgrade to.

I recently splurged heavily.

Nikon D700

MB-D10 BG

2 Spare Batterys.

Nikon SB-600 ( the 900 was out of stock so I saved money )

Nikon 105mm 2.8 ( Out of stock )

I have to wait awhile for the 105mm to be restocked.

But I am extremely excited that I got new gear after my D80 finally hit the deck.

Nice, I have the 105 2.8, its a great lens!!

I am looking at buying the SB600 now that is discontinued (ONLY if I find a great deal - because some store just wants to get rid of it) if not I will just buy a 700

Distortion is essentially zero... Before buying it I did do a bit of research, and I remember reading at like some macro focusing distances there is a TINY amount, but nothing serious.

I haven't noticed any serious ghosting, and I've been using it religiously for about a 8 months.

I love it, but I was upgrading from kit 18-105, 70-300 VR, and 35mm 1.8... so it is ages beyond anything else I have used... Focus is very fast (as long as you use the limiter which is from infinity to 0.5m

You have to keep in mind even though I find it to be amazing in every way, it is my only "pro" lens...

I do believe that the focusing speed is equivalent (more or less) to Nikon's 70-200 f/2.8... which if you have used one will give you an idea of its speed

I forgot how slow the focusing was of my 70-300 was until I used it two days ago, ever since I got my 105 2.8 I have decided the only new lenses I buy will be pro ones. Like the 24-70 f2.8 70-200 f/2.8 etc.

PS: did you buy any other lenses for it yet?

Man why does it seem like every neowin member has serious dough to spend on camera gear, except for me :( /haters gonna hate :p

Now, seriously, let's get some pics in teh monthly gallery!

Man why does it seem like every neowin member has serious dough to spend on camera gear, except for me :( /haters gonna hate :p

lol