Best GPS app that doesn't rely on connection?

I have only tried Google Maps, and I really like it.

One thing I don't like is that it relies on a data connection.

Can anyone recommend me a good GPS app that works offline with some of the features of Google Maps?

Thanks,

-KJ

I thought phones need a data connection to work. That we dont have real GPS yet.

Not sure where you heard that, phones do still use the data connection in Satnav but mainly for traffic updates. A lot of them now store the maps on the card/internal storage.

I've been using CoPilot for about 3 years now across WinMo and Android and absolutely love it :)

I've heard so many stories about Cell GPS that I don't even know what to believe anymore, first E911 was supose to have GPS to locate you then I heard that its not GPS just called that and uses triangulation, then heard GPS is the same as navigation systems, then heard its kinda similar but still uses towers for positioning.... WTF is it already? Are we streatching the meaning of "GPS" to mean anything that can locate you, or does GPS mean GPS in terms of Satalite's and using 3+ of them to get lat, lon and height from locations in space based on time codes?

but seriously, every cell phone needs to have a TRUE GPS chip in it that uses satalites, not cell towers, and allow full app access to the current location if you want it to know that, not some WiFi / Cell tower best guess BS... back in the first revision of iOS that supported location, it always said I was in new jersey, that's only a whole state away from me...... :wacko:

Yea but its not like a GPS device where it can access satillites directly. ...

Most smartphones now do have a fully functional GPS chipset, ie it listens to the signals from the GPS satellites.