kit suggestions

Hi,

Currently, I a Canon 500D - A EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 II lens - A similar lens from my old camera - EF 28-90mm 1:4-5.6 III - and a EF 90-300mm 1:4.5-5.6.

I'm pretty new to photography really, and wondering what would be useful to buy? I just have a standard Canon Camera bag from a few years ago, no filters or extra accessories. What kind of kit should I definitely have as basic, and what extra things should I look into getting?

50mm f1.8 or f1.4 (depending on your budget) is the usual "next step." Also a flash will probably come in handy at some point.

I'm not sure how it is with Canon, but I know there's a huge difference between the 50mm f1.4 and 1.8. If you're considering a 50mm lens and can afford it, absolutely go for the 1.4. My local camera shop let me test drive the 1.4 and 1.8 for a day to see which I wanted, and I found the 1.4 MUCH sharper at a wider range of apertures. I'd imagine Canon lenses are similar in this regard.

Thanks for the suggestions, the f1.4 isn't something I could afford realistically for some time. The canon f1.8 has mixed reviews, criticizing the build quality, but saying you can also get some really sharp photos with it. I have some old flashes from an old film camera, although I have no idea how to get them to work, or charge them up. I will have to take a look at them.

The only grip I hear w/ canon's 50 f1.8 is that it's made out of plastic while most other lenses are metal. I have a friend who uses it as his main lens. If you're a klutz and drop stuff all the time, then maybe don't get it. But if you generally take care of your possessions it should be fine.

Be careful with those old flashes, some of them pass high voltages through the hotshoe and could damage your camera. Google for compatibility first.