Apple acknowledges that the App Store, iCloud and more are down

icloud

Apple appears to be facing outages, with people reporting they cannot complete purchases in the Apple Store, access the Apple Store or iCloud. In our testing, we even had a DNS failure at Apple.com before the page reloaded, which then loaded the website.

It's not entirely clear what other services are affected as it started around half an hour ago, as can be seen in the below screenshot. So far we know of the following services being affected:

  • Apple Store (via iOS devices, unable to authenticate)
  • iCloud (partially loads or gives a DNS error)
  • Apple Music
  • Apple Fitness
  • Apple Maps
  • Apple ID (unable to login or authenticate)
  • iMessage

apple outage reported by downdetector

Over on Downdetector.com, there are already over 1,000 reports of people not being able to access Apple store services.

For some people, they can access iCloud but it fails to load fully, for others, they are greeted with a DNS error.

People are unable to authenticate or login to their Apple ID.

Apple Fitness is also down, who knew relying on online authentication services could be so annoying!

It seems that the outage is also affecting Apple Music too, so it's safe to assume that anything that relies on an Apple ID is down right now.

apple outage

Apple is reporting that all services are up and running, despite the fact that many people are reporting otherwise for almost an hour already as of 6:21pm CET / 10:30 am PT / 1:30 pm ET.

Update 6:41pm CET / 10:41 am PT / 1:41 pm ET

apple outage

Apple has now acknowledged the outages and reflected this in its System Status page, as you can see, quite a number of services have been affected, but that does not seem to include the Apple ID even though we have seen people posting that they can't authenticate or login with their Apple ID. Maybe Apple is still investigating the extent of the outage.

Update 11:15pm CET / 3:15 pm PT / 6:15 pm ET: Apple has updated its status page to say that they managed to solve all of the issues within two hours of the first reported outage.

Report a problem with article
The Witcher new saga artwork
Next Article

CD Projekt RED confirms a new Witcher game is in development

mindfulness
Previous Article

Save 96% off this Mindfulness Complete Bundle — Learn to Self Love

8 Comments - Add comment

Advertisement