Jump to content



Photo

Meet Firefox Next

firefox

3487 replies to this topic

#46 Gaffney

Gaffney

    I have no title

  • Joined: 24-September 09

Posted 14 April 2011 - 01:23

Wait so is it better to be on 6.0 nightly or 5.0 aurora ?

If 5.0 is still in the works and 6.0 at the same time, then will changes from 5.0 be added into the 6.0 channel and more ? Or will the changes made in 5.0 not be added to 6.0 until 5.0 is released or near release ?


#47 OP bogas04

bogas04

    This title is bogus

  • Joined: 15-May 09
  • Location: India
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 14 April 2011 - 04:12

Wait so is it better to be on 6.0 nightly or 5.0 aurora ?

If 5.0 is still in the works and 6.0 at the same time, then will changes from 5.0 be added into the 6.0 channel and more ? Or will the changes made in 5.0 not be added to 6.0 until 5.0 is released or near release ?



nightly = all latest patches will land there , not tested , can crash etc
aurora = selected patches from above ones would land here , i.e. changes in aurora will be in nightly , but not vice-versa , lil QA done on it , more stable than nightly

#48 nub

nub

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-November 06
  • Location: Amerika

Posted 14 April 2011 - 05:12

Is there a way to see the changes in nightly builds?

#49 OP bogas04

bogas04

    This title is bogus

  • Joined: 15-May 09
  • Location: India
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 14 April 2011 - 05:19

Is there a way to see the changes in nightly builds?


track the The Official Win32 XXXX thread here

#50 +Medfordite

Medfordite

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 16-March 06
  • Location: Medford Oregon
  • OS: Win 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Axiom

Posted 14 April 2011 - 05:31

Here is my main issue with the 4.x release they just did and I hope it is much better in the new releases.

There had been quite a few incompatible extensions and add-ons that would not run in 4.0 for quite some time. (Firebug, Febe, Greasemonkey for example), but were later fixed after 4.0 went gold. I sincerely hope that during the big version rush into 7 for later this year, they don't abandon all of the extensions and then cause more update issues.

I am a big fan of bleeding edge software, but it was sort of hard during the betas because of the extensions. To me also, it seems like they are pushing the numbers too freely. Why bother with a 5.0 when you are going to go to 6.0 and then 7.0? Seems pointless to me. I personally would rather go with a version 4.6 with all the fantastic speed and features that version 7 will eventually have.


EDIT: Okay now, I really don't know if this is a placebo effect, but for kicks, I downloaded the Nightly and it seems to be loading pages a lot faster than my FF4, but then again, it did dump 99% of my extensions so that might have been part of it. :)

#51 grayscale

grayscale

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-February 11

Posted 14 April 2011 - 06:35

Have you tried disabling addon compatibility?

#52 Grinch

Grinch

    Developer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 26-September 09
  • Location: Wisconsin
  • OS: Windows 8.1.1 | WP8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 14 April 2011 - 07:39

No one can really blame Mozilla for 'breaking compatibility with add-ons'. It is up to the developers' to keep their plugin updated.

#53 alexalex

alexalex

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 25-February 11

Posted 14 April 2011 - 07:44

As of today you can download Aurora at : https://www.mozilla....firefox/channel

#54 grayscale

grayscale

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-February 11

Posted 14 April 2011 - 10:04

Downloaded nightly but did not notice the tabs-don't-resize-on-close fixed, or is on aurora only? (I doubt), I'm torned between nightly and aurora, I don't mind the risk of crashes since I have 3 other browsers here.

#55 OP bogas04

bogas04

    This title is bogus

  • Joined: 15-May 09
  • Location: India
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 14 April 2011 - 10:22

Downloaded nightly but did not notice the tabs-don't-resize-on-close fixed, or is on aurora only? (I doubt), I'm torned between nightly and aurora, I don't mind the risk of crashes since I have 3 other browsers here.


was on nightly , but 2nd update doesnt have it , wait for tomorrow

#56 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 14 April 2011 - 10:24

chrome will never compare to FF or exceed it. FF FTW....

#57 Pikey

Pikey

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-February 02

Posted 14 April 2011 - 11:50

Have you tried disabling addon compatibility?


Can someone run through how to set this please?

I've tried adding extensions.CheckCompatibility.6.0a >> False ... (is it boolean? btw) ... but it doesn't seem to work.

#58 kilara1988

kilara1988

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-September 10

Posted 14 April 2011 - 11:53

I had the don't resize tab on the yesterdays nightly and i still have it after the second update in the evening.

PS:@Pikey It is extensions.checkCompatibility.6.0a->false and yes it is boolean.

#59 SLK320

SLK320

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 17-July 09
  • Location: Sweden

Posted 14 April 2011 - 11:54

Can someone run through how to set this please?

I've tried adding extensions.CheckCompatibility.6.0a >> False ... (is it boolean? btw) ... but it doesn't seem to work.

Install this addon instead it will allow you to run incompatible addons. https://addons.mozil...porter/?src=api

#60 Pikey

Pikey

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-February 02

Posted 14 April 2011 - 12:05

Install this addon instead it will allow you to run incompatible addons. https://addons.mozil...porter/?src=api

Ah .. yes! Many thanks for that!
All working good now .. I haven't got that many , but it's nice to have them going!



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!