Facebook is forcing its employees to use Android phones because . . .

Calum

Facebook is forcing its employees to use Android phones because its Android app is just awful

Facebook just updated its iPhone app. Great!

That's no consolation to its employees, who are increasingly getting nudged, cajoled, and even ordered to give up their iPhones for Android devices.

[. . .]

Read more at Business Insider.

What do you all think of this? Is it ethical? Is it a good idea?

Ambroos

Well it sort of makes sense, and it sort of doesn't. I can understand that they want the team working on the Android app to actually use Android phones. It's the only way to properly find out what's wrong with it (or rather to see that simply nothing is right). But I don't understand why people on unrelated teams should be forced to use a specific type of phone.

OOOOOOOO

I'm unsure about this. In fact, I think it's a load of old crap. I'm a designer leading the Android team on our product and while the Android app wasn't pushed as hard as the iOS one at first, because we had more iOS developers and a bigger platform of users, we have been pushing the new Android app hard in design and development and it's standing on it's own as a high quality product. And you know why? Because we're a responsible company of people who know that ANY low grade app in your lineup is bad.