Which distro for me?

Xtreme $niper

Now I know this may seem like I didnt read any of the other threads. But I did. The thing is, I still dont think I have an answer since none of the situations I read felt like it applied to me as well.

I want to know which distro to go with. I'm new to Linux but I have used Knoppix so I have some "general" knowledge, so its not like im going into this whole thing completely blind, but not knowledgable either. Anyways, I just wanted to know what everyone's opinion is on which distro I should go with.

I'm used to the way Windows works, but I want a free distro to duel boot with. This means I dont want Lindows since it may be "easy" but its not free. I have a partition I am going to reformat and install the distro onto already set. I read up on the install procedure for Red Hat (which is the same as fedora according to the site) and it seems fairly simple enough, just gotta jot down some notes before going into the install. But Mandrake is looking very tempting. I hear its hard to install programs on Mandrake? Is this true?

I dont think I can go into any more details until a discussion starts flowing, so any opinion would be helpful. Thanks! :)

Sophism

suse 9.1 or mandrake. if u are up for a challenge try debian or gentoo.

CoolioVendetta

Ive tried quite a few distros (im stil a linux beginner) and i always end up coming back to mandrake. I dont know wether its because its the first distro i tried but i find it to be the easiest to use for my level.

Xtreme $niper

Speaking of challenge, I would like to point out that my system is a IBM Thinkpad R31 with a P3 1.2ghz processor with just about 240mb of RAM. Its a school laptop, but I own it. Basically what I'm doing is reformating a 7gig partition that the school used to put a reimage backup on my HD, but it never worked because they screwed it up. So I'm getting rid of that data and just wiping it clean.