Why is 720 so popular?

I am new to HD so please forgive my ignorance and indulge me.

I'd like to know why there are more the lower resolution 720 movies and games coming out for HDTV rather than the better quality, higher resolution of 1080p? Even TV broadcasts are in 720 and not 1080.

I was really bothered to see the StarWars saga in 720 and not 1080. What's going on? Is it because a load of poor people purchased more 720 HDTVs as opposed to the little more expensive 1080 TVs? So now all of us who spent a $200 more on a more superior product have to suffer because of the poor masses.

I think the only game console that can output in 1080p is the PS3, so you won't see any other games at that resolution, and DVDs aren't 1080-anything. All Blu-Ray should be full HD. Everything else is 480i to 1080i.

HD TV broadcasts are generally in whatever format the show was made in, up to 1080i.

Because 1080p requires a lot more resources to play which is why games usually aren't in 1080p and a lot more bandwidth to stream which is why tv programming isn't in 1080p. 1080p is mainly for blu-ray and I'm sure the next generation of game consoles will be solely 1080p. TV programming I'm not sure about unless everyone gets fiber run to their homes. The minimal difference in quality between them just doesn't justify the cost that 1080p requires in both resources and bandwidth.

Edited by matt4pack

where are you seeing these 720p movies? because all purchased blu-ray movies should be 1080p. if you're talking about tv, then yeah 720 is easier for the broadcasters to send i guess. We probably won't ever have 1080p be the standard tv broadcast format.

as to downloaded movies being 720p, it's less bandwidth and resource intensive for a picture that's otherwise still very very good.