Lens Question

LINK

The Camera in the link is one i've been eyeing for a while now, but i'm confused about something. Some reviews, websites have it listed as APO and others don't. Are there different variations of this lens, like newer, some older etc.. and wtf does APO even mean? It's a perfect lens for me as i would like to do some Macro shots, and would like to have a 300mm zoom just incase it's needed. I fully understand that it doesn't have IS, not a big deal for me as i will rarely use it at the 300mm level. Can anyone with this lens confirm it's good/bad etc and that there is only 1 version of the lens.

I have never tried that lens before, but f4 for a 70-300 that doesn't have IS? No way. That lens would only be good for studio work on a tripod, or in very bright outdoors. Anything else, and it will just be too dark. It's slow and doesn't have IS. Then again, it's dirt cheap for a superzoom. But you do get what you pay for.

I have an sigma 70 -300 macro lens i can sell you if you want? awesome nic. only selling as im saving pennies for a 24-70 HSM. PM if interested.

cheers

forget that, =mines is nikon fit. sorry

I just reallyi want a relatively cheap lens that has zoom + Macro.. or are all zoom lenses able to pull off macro shots? I've never owned one so i'm not sure.

Honestly, I just got myself another D70 body and with it came a 28-300 Sigma 3.5-6.3 non-IS. Honestly, I hate using the lens. The super zoom is great but the pictures aren't nearly sharp enough in low light and the colors are pretty faded. I can't really even compare it to my kit Nikkor 18-55 3.5-5.6, colors on the Nikkor are way brighter and the images are a lot sharper.