Earlier this week Google released a minor update for the Photos app and removed the restriction on backing up photos only while charging. Now a major update for the company's photo management app for Android, iOS and the web is rolling out with sharing features.
With the latest update, Google Photos will allow users to share their albums or photos with their contacts in an automated manner. The two features included in the version 3.0 of the app are Suggested Sharing and Shared Libraries.
With Google's machine learning capabilities such as those showcased at I/O 2017, Suggested Sharing will identify the content and the participants and prompt the users to share the photos with relevant contacts. The contacts do not need to be using Photos; the app allows sharing photos or albums using phone numbers and email addresses. Additionally, friends and family members can contribute to albums as well.
Shared Libraries takes things a bit further by allowing users to share their entire library or photos of certain places or people with their partners or family. There are many access controls available in this case. The user can choose the photos, the timeframe and the content type that is shared with the other person. Each new photo addition will send a notification to those who have access to the library.