Microsoft celebrates Sea of Thieves launch with solid gold bananas that you can win

We're only just over a week away until Sea of Thieves for the Xbox One and PC hits the deck on March 20, with a beta test of the game, accessible to anyone, concluding yesterday. And now, Microsoft has launched a rather unusual competition to mark the arrival of the title with "The Quest for the Golden Bananas," challenging players with a series of riddles to solve, with the ultimate prize of four hallmarked 18-carat gold bananas up for grabs.

The contest opens at 3am ET (8am GMT / 9 am CET) on March 19 to, where up to four players per team across the UK, US, Canada, France, Germany, and Australia can navigate to xbox.com/thebananaquest to solve a riddle – with 14 more being released in the following days. These riddles will be placed both online and in real-world locations, providing equal opportunities for those that are unable to travel.

Then on March 23, the fastest team to solve the riddles from each country will be entered into "the grand final", with one lucky crew winning the golden fruits that are valued at £20,000 (~$27,500) each. Runner-up prizes are also up for grabs, which include limited edition £300 (over $400) Sea of Thieves golden "doubloons."

Sea of Thieves can be preordered ahead of its March 20 release and is priced at $59.99 for the Xbox One and Windows 10 PCs. The game will also be available through Xbox Game Pass which costs $9.99 a month.

Source: Microsoft via Windows Central

Report a problem with article
Previous Story

HP announces the Elite Slice for Meetings Rooms G2

Next Story

Grab a lifetime license to NetSpot Pro (Mac or Windows) for just $39

15 Comments - Add comment

Advertisement