Jump to content



Photo

Report old/large threads that are broke here pls

neowin

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • 29,878 posts
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 12 April 2012 - 06:41

I've seen some reports of threads not working to save posts anymore (automatically) but on refresh they do get submitted.

I have seen this issue in "the thread formerly known as" topic because it also happens to me. This is an issue we haven't worked out yet, but my first suggestion is to close them and then reopen a new thread.

Our database is quite large and it could be a number of things causing these issues to happen, anyway if you run across this problem, link the thread here and I'll check it.

Thanks.


#2 Muhammad Farrukh

Muhammad Farrukh

    The End is Nigh

  • 7,621 posts
  • Joined: 15-August 11

Posted 12 April 2012 - 07:37

To name a few.


Official Religion Thread II
What was the last movie you watched?
World of Warcraft Thread
Forum Fun images
Battlefield 3
Batman: Arkham City
What was the last movie you watched?

HBO's Game of Thrones
Glee
[Official] Anime/Manga Thread
.
.
.
.
.
Will post some more later


And finally
The thread formerly known as: Forums about to reach...

:p
I know

#3 OP Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • 29,878 posts
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 12 April 2012 - 07:41

To name a few.


Official Religion Thread II
What was the last movie you watched?
World of Warcraft Thread
Forum Fun images
Battlefield 3
Batman: Arkham City
What was the last movie you watched?

HBO's Game of Thrones
Glee
[Official] Anime/Manga Thread
.
.
.
.
.
Will post some more later


And finally
The thread formerly known as: Forums about to reach...

:p
I know


Was able to post to the first two threads immediately using fast reply.

Please only report threads that don't allow you to do this.

Edit: The forum was fixed earlier today, but I confirmed the "thread formerly known as" still had the posting issue, so I've created a new one.

Double check if problem topics now work before reporting ;)

#4 Muhammad Farrukh

Muhammad Farrukh

    The End is Nigh

  • 7,621 posts
  • Joined: 15-August 11

Posted 12 April 2012 - 07:42

I get 'Saving Post' thing from all of these
I haven't included the ones I haven't posted in

#5 OP Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • 29,878 posts
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 12 April 2012 - 07:48

I get 'Saving Post' thing from all of these
I haven't included the ones I haven't posted in


OK so this seems to happen to people who participated in the thread before hmm. The Cyanide & Happiness one is 245 pages long, I started it and have posted in it a ton of times and that thread isn't broke. But it also doesn't have a lot of attachments either.

This thread that I started in 2004 also works for me http://www.neowin.ne.../page__st__1740

Can you log out of Neowin and then back in again, then retry posting in any of those threads you reported?

#6 Muhammad Farrukh

Muhammad Farrukh

    The End is Nigh

  • 7,621 posts
  • Joined: 15-August 11

Posted 12 April 2012 - 07:50

Yup, that's the thing.

If you have posted some amount of posts in the thread before, chances are that it will get stuck.
Conversly, Mass Effect 3 thread has over 1000 replies, and I have been posting it for quite some time, but it never gets stuck. At least for now

#7 Muhammad Farrukh

Muhammad Farrukh

    The End is Nigh

  • 7,621 posts
  • Joined: 15-August 11

Posted 12 April 2012 - 07:52

And conversely x2, I had zero posts in World of Warcraft Thread, but in my very first post, it got stuck

#8 OP Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • 29,878 posts
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 12 April 2012 - 07:54

And conversely x2, I had zero posts in World of Warcraft Thread, but in my very first post, it got stuck


Weird http://www.neowin.ne...t__p__594794507 worked for me.

#9 Muhammad Farrukh

Muhammad Farrukh

    The End is Nigh

  • 7,621 posts
  • Joined: 15-August 11

Posted 12 April 2012 - 08:25

World of Warcraft Thread has problem only in IE 10. Works fine in Opera.
Weird :s

#10 YouSuck

YouSuck

    Neowinian

  • 142 posts
  • Joined: 28-May 11
  • Location: Frankfurt
  • OS: Apollo, iOS 5, Meego
  • Phone: Lumia 920, iPhone 5, N9

Posted 12 April 2012 - 08:27

I get stuck on all of them except Forum Fun images

#11 firey

firey

    F͎̗͉͎͈͑͡ȉ͎̣̐́ṙ͖̺͕͙̓̌è̤̞͉̟̲͇̍̍̾̓ͥͅy͓̍̎̌̏̒

  • 7,988 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 05
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Android (4.1.2)

Posted 12 April 2012 - 14:03

I was getting it last night almost every single time in the "Slow forums" thread. It's been quicker today so I haven't tried it. But that thread was only 2 pages long.

#12 ShMaunder

ShMaunder

    Neowinian

  • 1,045 posts
  • Joined: 15-December 06
  • Location: Wiltshire, UK
  • OS: Ubuntu 12.04
  • Phone: Nexus 4

Posted 12 April 2012 - 17:16

No longer getting the driver error in the new 'spam' thread when posting woo :D

Had been getting that for about 2 weeks.

#13 -Alex-

-Alex-

    Noob Hunter

  • 2,760 posts
  • Joined: 08-August 06
  • Location: Oslo, Norway

Posted 18 April 2012 - 08:48

Please don't slate me for asking this, because I'm genuinely interested to know... but I guess you've asked Invision if they're aware of this issue. Have you had a response from them at all?

#14 OP Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • 29,878 posts
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 21 April 2012 - 08:20

Please don't slate me for asking this, because I'm genuinely interested to know... but I guess you've asked Invision if they're aware of this issue. Have you had a response from them at all?


We've asked Invision a lot about large databases and they are finally starting to do something about it in the 3.x versions. 3.3 is another (mostly) backend update so I hope things will improve with that update when we can upgrade.

#15 -Alex-

-Alex-

    Noob Hunter

  • 2,760 posts
  • Joined: 08-August 06
  • Location: Oslo, Norway

Posted 22 April 2012 - 11:01

We've asked Invision a lot about large databases and they are finally starting to do something about it in the 3.x versions. 3.3 is another (mostly) backend update so I hope things will improve with that update when we can upgrade.

Good stuff, thanks for the reply :)



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!