Android 11 will automatically revoke permissions from unused apps

Google yesterday released the third Developer Preview of Android 11 with plenty of changes. Among other changes, Google has also introduced the ability to automatically revoke permissions from apps if they are not used for a long time.

The feature is named "Auto revoke permissions" and it is disabled by default. It is buried deep inside the App permissions menu in the Settings app at the bottom of every app listing. The feature needs to be enabled manually for apps that you have installed on your Android device and there's no global toggle for it. Seemingly, the feature does not revoke all permissions from an app when it is not used in months. It is also unclear as to how long it takes for the feature to revoke permissions from an unused app.

Source: @MishaalRahman

Google has introduced a number of small changes and improvements in Android 11 Developer Preview 3. Apart from the new Auto Revoke permission, the company has also introduced the ability to dismiss persistent notifications, a revamped Recent Apps menu, and more.

The third Developer Preview of Android 11 is the last developer-oriented release from Google. The company is now working on launching the beta program for Android 11 which should make it easier for users to sideload the upcoming version of Android on their Pixel.

Source: MishaalRahman

Report a problem with article
1587738733_pac-man_championship_edition_2
Next Article

PAC-MAN Championship Edition 2 to be free on all platforms until May 10 starting today

dsc07463
Previous Article

Nintendo confirms user accounts were illegally accessed, disables Nintendo Network ID login

5 Comments - Add comment

Advertisement